Community
Search
Notices
JetCat Turbine Direct Support Ask your JetCat questions here for the experts that know them. MrMatt and Bob Wilcox will field your inquiries.

P-160 "Slow Acc"

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2004, 08:15 AM
darryltarr
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default P-160 "Slow Acc"

Dear Sir,

I have recently purchased a brand new P-160 from JetCat Germany. This turbine is installed in my 1/5th Scale L-39 from Airworld. I have had 12 failed start attemts now and the GSU is giving "Slow Acc" as the reason.

I may be of interest to you that this is my THIRD JetCat turbine, and I have been operating the P-80 and 120 for almost 3 years now. I can honestly say that I am well familiar with their operations.

So back to my 160. Ignition is as normal, EGT reaches +/- 750 and at about 18'000 rpm the start aborts and GSU says Acceleration Slow. I have tried these start attemps both upright and inverted (as the turbine in the L-39 sits 45 degrees from bottom dead center).

I have also tried the starts with the gas can connected directly to the valve to eliminate the possibility of there being any problems with the onboard system. The fuel system and plumbing is also free and clear of air. I have tried various pump start voltages from .175 to .250, but with no sucess.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Yours faithfully,

Darryl Tarr
Old 09-11-2004, 10:55 AM
John Redman
My Feedback: (8)

Default RE: P-160 "Slow Acc"

Darryl, the pump start voltage you have mentioned is out of the loop at 18000 rpm. The second pump voltage parameter needs to be address, which can only be done with a special code through the GSU.

Have you tried to contact JetCat Germany yet?

If you have problems there, I can walk you through the process over the phone from work on Monday. If you need it taken care of immediately call me at home this weekend and I will get you going. I am located in California, PST. (661) 256-2357
Old 09-11-2004, 11:05 AM
darryltarr

Hello John,