JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

Reply
Old 12-26-2012, 02:57 PM
  #901
orthobird
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: shreveport, LA
Posts: 726
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

This is her:
engine was 1700 (desert aircraft 170 cc, twin)
airframe was 1500
10 futaba BLS 157 servos, 500 ou/in torque each = 189 a piece = 1890
the rest is on receiver, equalizer, 3 batteries, epoxy paint, ultracoat, balsarite, SWB linkage, SWB servo arms, SWB rudder tray, servo extensions, epoxy resin, honeycomb material, carbon fiber/kevlar hybrid cloth, plywood, SWB motor mounts, Kirby Graphics, TMZ smoke pump, misc screws, bolts, knurled head screws, carbon fibre propeller, dave brown ultimate spinner, etc...

dimensions
118" wingspan
112" length
46 pounds
wing area 2670 " sq

took me 4 months to put together.


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl28309.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	151.0 KB
ID:	1834058  
orthobird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 07:06 AM
  #902
Franco2fly
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 697
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

If you have any ill effects or just don't like messing with the "Y" connector, then the route to go is the optical pick up.  Here's a picture of the optical CA'd to a balsa rod and poking out of the cowl where it picks up the silver strip that is glued to the back plate of the spinner which was sprayed with automotive flat black paint.



This is in my ,91 four Stroke powered Tucano.

KKKKFL
Franco2fly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 07:47 AM
  #903
Len Todd
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Baldwin, MI
Posts: 891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

My spinners are carbon fiber, so no painting is required. Also, I did pick up one of the optical sensors to test. That is probably what I will mess around with on this currrent build. Going the optical sensor route keeps me from having any direct connections to the ignition circuit.
Len Todd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 09:04 AM
  #904
Franco2fly
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 697
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

The test is simple....   stick on silver strip supplied ( there are also silver dots, but I prefer the 1/8 inch wide by 1/2 inch long stripe), aligned so it goes length wise from the edge of the back plate, in towards the shaft.  Afix the sensor so that the two sensor pickups (the look like dots) are going to pass across the silver stripe sequentially.  Take the plug out of the motor so it rotates easily,  Then power up the TM1k.  When its on just hand twist the prop so the silver goes past the sensor and watch for the Orange light to flicker in the TM1K..  If you have the Optical sensor too far away you will not get anything...  when all is aligned correctly you see the orange light blink as the stripe goes by the pick-up...  That's it...  once you have it working, permenantly mount everything, I do one last hand test just to make sure I haven't lost the bubble.

Now remember when doing this hand test, you will not see an actual RPM read out.  You would need to use a Starter to spin the shaft enough, usually a second or two.

KKKKFL
Franco2fly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 09:39 AM
  #905
ROGER RUSSELL
 
ROGER RUSSELL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Jacksonville, IL
Posts: 1,315
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

Kinda on the same topic!

I have a new DX 18 and am wanting to do a 30 mile cross country flight with my 1/3 scale Cub. (Cub has 50oz tank as has been flown 30 minutes with fuel to spare)

I am wanting to install the GPS SENSOR (SPMA 9587) to have some type of awareness of altitude..etc.......

It says in the PDF Manual
"The Optional GPS Sensor is designed to easily install in any aircraft apllications. When operational the GPS Sensor will measure : Latitude, Longitude, Ground Speed, Mean Sea Level (MSL), Clock and Heading............etc........."

Along with the battery voltage readout, this should be all I need.....Yes?

And when done with flight will I beable to download this to see the flight......etc.?

Thanks

ROGER RUSSELL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 09:42 AM
  #906
orthobird
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: shreveport, LA
Posts: 726
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

Hi Roger, this is very interesting, where will you be when plane is up in air, will you be following in a car?
orthobird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 09:51 AM
  #907
ROGER RUSSELL
 
ROGER RUSSELL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Jacksonville, IL
Posts: 1,315
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: orthobird

Hi Roger, this is very interesting, where will you be when plane is up in air, will you be following in a car?
orthobird:
We have done this before on a smaller scale (3 mile out and back from our field) with .40 size trainers.

Will be in the back of a pick up truck sitting in a lawn chair.
Will have a spotter/co pilot if I need to take a break in back with me.
A driver and co pilot in truck.
And we have had a front vehicle to run interference in case of ???.........all in radio/phone contact.

Will do the same on this 30 mile venture.

Will be flying from our club field to a members field that he has on his farm.

We do this when all the crops/leaves are down for better visibilty and in case we need to make an emergency landing we can do so on the road and or field.

We will map out a route that keeps us off of most heavily travelled roads.
ROGER RUSSELL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 10:02 AM
  #908
orthobird
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: shreveport, LA
Posts: 726
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

this is awesome!!!

i love it,
i wish someone would film a segment of it and post it on youtube!!!
orthobird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 10:18 AM
  #909
Franco2fly
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 697
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

GPS altitude is not very accurate...  the Altitude sensor will provide a better reading.  as for re-playing, I'm fairly certain you will only be able to replay using the STi application.  This will limit you to use of an iPad at best.  As for the Cross-Country flight, its a neat thing to do.  I did something similar many years ago, with my Senior Telemaster, just hiking about 2 miles down a country road and this was in Germany.  Landed in a snow covered field and actually had rime ice on the leading edge of the wing!!  Now that was one cold flying day.  Its doubtful my body would be up to the task today.

KKKKFL
Franco2fly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 11:01 AM
  #910
ROGER RUSSELL
 
ROGER RUSSELL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Jacksonville, IL
Posts: 1,315
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

orthobird:

I will be videoing from the air with couple on board GoPro Cameras. This CUB has been my AIR to AIR Videong Platfoem fo a number of years. (Also a tow glider puller upper......LOL)
When I do it I will post toy my YouTube Channel.
You can go see some of my vids at ROROJAX on youtube.

Franco2fly:

I like the GPS Sensor as it gives all the other data too, would like to have as accurate as possible, but do not want to buy all the individaul items to do so.

Will try to keep all informed when/if this happens.

Thanks to all!
ROGER RUSSELL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 07:45 PM
  #911
orthobird
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: shreveport, LA
Posts: 726
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

ON a DA 170.
The DA 170 has two threaded 4-40 holes opposite to the CDI sensor.
I ordered the Spektrum RPM sensor and used a PVC pipe, that was then machined to size and fit the two together.

i have then binded the receiver, the telemetry module, and the Iphone interface, and when i rotate the crankshaft, it reads RPM based on speed that i twist it.

i also got temp reading of 75 degrees


this is way coolllllllll!!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Kh17381.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	83.8 KB
ID:	1834367   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bx74206.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	117.0 KB
ID:	1834368  
orthobird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 08:58 PM
  #912
orthobird
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: shreveport, LA
Posts: 726
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

This is really way cool.
i have got following:
1.  rpm (dont know yet how well this will work or how accurate it will be
2.  cylinder head temp
3.  receiver pack voltage
4.  ignition battery voltage
5.  GPS (dont know how well this will be= altitude, ground speed.

will keep you all posted
orthobird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 07:08 AM
  #913
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,509
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

GPS will give you ground speed pretty well if you're flying somewhat straight, but GPS altitude won't be too useful.

When you start up the model on the field for the first time that day, give it a few minutes out in the open to acquire satellites and tell you position on the tx. Once it has your position, after a power-down it holds them for a while (20 minutes I think, don't quote me on that) so it re-acquires more quickly on subsequent power-ups.

GPS will become more useful over time, I'm working on that. (Sorry, no details).

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 07:24 AM
  #914
Franco2fly
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 697
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

Andy,
You're such a tease...

I haven't heard anything from Chuck Bas...  in quite a while.  I was wondering if anyone is working on documentation for all these sensors as well as something more than the sheet you get when you purchase on.

I would volunteer to start a word document if folks want to contribute to a Wiki like document describing set-ups and peculariaties that we have uncovered.  I have never posted anything but a jpg link in a forum so don't quite know how it would work.  Any words of wisdom for the likes of Buschbarber and Freechip..  please chime in.


KKKKFL
Franco2fly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 01:22 PM
  #915
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,509
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

Hey, Franco, a wiki page would be a good idea. Be warned, they can be a lot of work!

You need to find a host first, and then you can start doing your thing.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 01:26 PM
  #916
jhd744
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lake Placid, FL
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

Is this app available for droids?

Thanks,
Jon
jhd744 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:07 AM
  #917
Franco2fly
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 697
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

I have not seen the STi app for droids..  just the iPhone and iPad so far as I know.

KKKKFL
Franco2fly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 03:53 AM
  #918
Franco2fly
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 697
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

What I was thinking of was posting a Word doc somewhere where others could download the original and re-post a corrected version, changing the title with a date so we could see when it was last updated.  I don't think this forum allows posting of anything other than images.

KKKKFL
Franco2fly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 10:54 AM
  #919
Pull Up Now!
 
Pull Up Now!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northfield, MN
Posts: 669
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Franco2fly

What I was thinking of was posting a Word doc somewhere where others could download the original and re-post a corrected version, changing the title with a date so we could see when it was last updated. I don't think this forum allows posting of anything other than images.

KKKKFL
You can upload a text file if you want.
Attached Files
File Type: txt
Pn35980.txt (57 Bytes, 0 views)
Pull Up Now! is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 12:57 PM
  #920
Franco2fly
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 697
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

Thank you sir pull up,,,, will have to write something about the STi application even if it is a disclaimer... but will try to post.

KKKKFL
Franco2fly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 05:28 PM
  #921
orthobird
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: shreveport, LA
Posts: 726
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

ok, i am using the saito sensor, and it is reading a signal. will post you on its accuracy.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv65560.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	69.6 KB
ID:	1835583   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hc91933.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	75.5 KB
ID:	1835584  
orthobird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:35 PM
  #922
martiny1
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

You would be best off with one off these: www.wireless-copilot.com
Youtube clip at : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C7QsVReZcnA

Telemetry with speech is the only way to go. Too distracting having a display.


martiny1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 03:21 AM
  #923
orthobird
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: shreveport, LA
Posts: 726
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

thanks for comments and suggestions. the one i have also has speech. it can be prgrammed to say if anything is low, and it can also give you data on a time interval of your choosing. this can be attached with an iphone earpience to your ear.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: martiny1

You would be best off with one off these: www.wireless-copilot.com
Youtube clip at : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C7QsVReZcnA

Telemetry with speech is the only way to go. Too distracting having a display.


orthobird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:17 AM
  #924
Pull Up Now!
 
Pull Up Now!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northfield, MN
Posts: 669
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.


Quote:
ORIGINAL: orthobird

thanks for comments and suggestions. the one i have also has speech. it can be prgrammed to say if anything is low, and it can also give you data on a time interval of your choosing. this can be attached with an iphone earpience to your ear.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: martiny1

You would be best off with one off these: www.wireless-copilot.com
Youtube clip at : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C7QsVReZcnA

Telemetry with speech is the only way to go. Too distracting having a display.


This is an interesting product, though somewhat limited for the price. By the way, ANY earphone will work, it doesn't have to be an iPhone. Also, I don't think you can program "if anything is low". You can only program an altitude height limit alarm, not a lower limit such as would be handy for landing approaches. I have a serious question about it's method of measuring Lipo battery life. The description says the measurement method is "non-invasive" meaning you don't have to cut wires. And the picture seems to show some type of blue ring inductive sensor thru which I assume one of the power wires passes. I don't know if it's the wire from the Lipo, or one of the brushless motor wires that passes thru the ring. To measure battery life, you need instant VOLTAGE too, not just current. I could be mistaken about this, but I don't think you can get voltage from an inductive sensor. And I don't see enough wires coming out of the airborne unit to really measure the flight pack's battery voltage and the Lipo voltage too. Maybe they're there, just don't see them.
Pull Up Now! is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:36 AM
  #925
orthobird
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: shreveport, LA
Posts: 726
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum Telemetry module and iPhone App.

hi pull up now, which one are you referring to?
the one i am referring to is the Spektrum telemetry module.
with this, you need to monitor either using a telemetry ready transmitter, or in my case, you need to purchase an STi interface which attaches to the bottom of your iphone, or i pad, or i pod.
then
you can attach an ear piece to your i phone, ipad, or ipod, i would prefer to use the one from apple, since it came with my phone, and thus, is one less expense.
then, you can program it to tell you the voltage, rpm, speed, altitude, etc..
with regards to altitude, you are correct, it will tell you once you get over a certain altitude, but now low,  i will have to look into that.
now, my system will give the voltage of my "flight pack", which for me, using a gas motor with an ignition battery, that is where it is plugged in.  my second reading is from my receiver battery.  the monitor will read the actual voltage it sees.  for the ignition battery, i have welded a deans plug to the lead that connects to the telemetry module.  the deans plug then attaches to the deans on the Life A123 battery i am using for ignition.  the battery has 3 leads coming out of it, 2 are futaba type, and one is a deans.  then, i have programmed the iphone app to set battery high voltage, low voltage, and high charge.  now when i look at the monitor, it will say full charge if the voltage is 6.6 volts.  as battery volts decrease, once it reaches a threshold, it will sound an alarm, i have set this for 6.0 volts.  also, i have programmed the module to say out all of the parameters on 30 seconds intervals, automatically.

there is so much more to this, i can go on and on, and it takes a lot of tinkering with and reading about it to understand it.
orthobird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:40 PM.