JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

Spektrum Receivers - Real or Fake

Reply

Old 03-09-2016, 11:03 AM
  #1  
OldScaleGuy
Thread Starter
 
OldScaleGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seymour, IN
Posts: 2,850
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Spektrum Receivers - Real or Fake

This has probably been kicked to death already but is there a way to tell if a Spektrum receiver is genuine or a clone/fake?
OldScaleGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2016, 11:18 AM
  #2  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Here's our official answer: http://www.horizonhobby.com/content/...e-buying-guide

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2016, 11:22 AM
  #3  
OldScaleGuy
Thread Starter
 
OldScaleGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seymour, IN
Posts: 2,850
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Andy, based on this the only way to be absolutely sure is to send it to Horizon for confirmation. Right?
OldScaleGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2016, 11:33 AM
  #4  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

If you're not buying from us or an authorized dealer, that's it.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2016, 11:45 AM
  #5  
OldScaleGuy
Thread Starter
 
OldScaleGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seymour, IN
Posts: 2,850
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thank you! There are a lot of "used" ones out there, i like saving money but not at the cost of a plane.
OldScaleGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 05:38 PM
  #6  
rcbill58
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Beacon Falls, CT
Posts: 19
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The fake ones have no range. I have 5 of them! don't buy, they don't work!
rcbill58 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 02:53 AM
  #7  
OldScaleGuy
Thread Starter
 
OldScaleGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seymour, IN
Posts: 2,850
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Based on what you are saying if the receiver passes a good range check then it is genuine. Right?
OldScaleGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 06:10 AM
  #8  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

ABSOLUTELY NOT! Many of the counterfeiters use parts that don't meet spec. They might work well-enough at close test range, but fail once you get out there. Many also use bad code, so once they lose signal it's all over. There is no consistent reliability - passing a quick test, or recovering link during test, doesn't mean it'll do it every time in practice.

Think of all the things you can do to cut costs, then do it again. And now you have a general idea of why they can sell them for $3.

There are even counter Cypress chips out there. Guess what - they aren't any good either, and a counterfeiter using counterfeit components happens. We have samples that customers have sent us.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 12:15 PM
  #9  
OldScaleGuy
Thread Starter
 
OldScaleGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seymour, IN
Posts: 2,850
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks Andy. I thought that sounded too good to be true.
OldScaleGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 12:20 PM
  #10  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

"Too good to be true" reminds me... Here's the official link for answering the question: http://www.horizonhobby.com/content/...e-buying-guide

If you think you've been duped, REPORT IT! Don't let those @#*$)(@#*$() STEAL YOUR MONEY!

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 12:22 PM
  #11  
OldScaleGuy
Thread Starter
 
OldScaleGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seymour, IN
Posts: 2,850
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Good question. I will send some in for confirmation. Then we will go from there.
OldScaleGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2016, 12:01 PM
  #12  
OldScaleGuy
Thread Starter
 
OldScaleGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seymour, IN
Posts: 2,850
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Another question on this subject. Is there any data that shows that some receivers have been cloned and others not?
OldScaleGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2016, 12:55 PM
  #13  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Almost all of them, even AR636. So far the AR6335, AR7350 and AR9350 are the only ones I haven't seen counterfeited.

They're smart - they go after the market leader because there is so much potential volume.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2016, 06:11 AM
  #14  
OldScaleGuy
Thread Starter
 
OldScaleGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Seymour, IN
Posts: 2,850
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Go figure,,, they are going to go where the money is. Thanks.
OldScaleGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 02:46 PM
  #15  
barneyoneshot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: linden, MI
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Not a reply.But a ??...I have had for a few years and want to get back in...So here it is.: Spectrum AR500 2.4 DSM 2 Transmitter.
A DX5e Reciever also DSM 2...But can't seem to get it to work...Good Batteries in both. But maybe I am trying to bine them the wrong way....Lite stays on in the reciever,after I take the bind plug out,BUT thats all will not work any servo. Thanks and I will appreciate any Help.

Barney.
barneyoneshot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 03:05 PM
  #16  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The AR500 receiver was discontinued a long time ago. It used to be a favorite of the fakers.

The DX5e transmitter should bind to a genuine AR500 just fine. Separate yourself from it about 2m/6' and try again.

Make sure you have the power inserted properly into the AR500. The black lead goes against the edge of the receiver case.

You can always send the two items in to Service for them to check out. They're pretty good about helping customers.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 03:06 PM
  #17  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

BTW, I don't see any other posts here for anybody to reply to. There are 14 others before you posted, but none by you.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service