JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

DX8 to DX8G2 transfer

Reply

Old 05-07-2016, 11:12 AM
  #1  
da Rock
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near Pfafftown NC
Posts: 11,511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default DX8 to DX8G2 transfer

I just picked up my new DX8G2. Registered it and updated to version 100A.

My old DX8 was updated to version 3.01 awhile back.

So I plugged an SD card into the old TX and did an Export All Models function.

Then plugged that card into my new DX8G2 and did an Import All Models function.

Got an Import Status that says 2: 'DX8' file

Nowhere to go from there except BACK and so I took a look at the Select Model list, and it showed no list at all, just the original Acro that comes with a new unused DX8G2.
da Rock is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2016, 11:13 AM
  #2  
da Rock
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near Pfafftown NC
Posts: 11,511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

So I tried to just IMPORT one model off the SD card.

I picked one from the list on the SD card and got the same dead end and nothing changed.



.......... The SD card shows a full list of models that matches what's on the old DX8.
da Rock is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2016, 11:25 AM
  #3  
fizzwater2
My Feedback: (60)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 2,762
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I don't believe the file structure from the old DX8 is compatible with the new one.

The DX8 and DX7s shared a similar structure, but the DX8G2 is like the new DX6, DX7black, DX9, and DX18 -

You'll have to move things by hand, most likely.

However - I seem to recall if you search the threads you may find a free "translator" program that will process your saved files from the old DX8 and allow you to port them over to the new one. It would be worth some time searching for it
fizzwater2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2016, 12:00 PM
  #4  
da Rock
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near Pfafftown NC
Posts: 11,511
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

%^$#&^ &^%$#@#

I just got a callback from Horizon. I'm glad they work on weekends, btw.

I'm still so mad I could........ The reason I bought the new DX8G2 was from the answer I got from the "can I help you?" window that shows up on the HH website a week or so ago. I usually ignore those pop up windows as I don't need encouragement to spend money, but this time I had a question.

I told the jerk I was interested in the new Gen2 DX8 but wanted assurance it'd take an SD card transfer from the DX8 I bought 3 or 4 years ago. May he burn in.......... his cheerful reply was, "no problem at all. works like a charm"

The written/typed word is truly the lousiest form of communications known to man. No way to hear incompetence or poor comprehension at all........... %$#&^&* *^%#

Last edited by da Rock; 05-07-2016 at 12:07 PM.
da Rock is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2016, 04:42 PM
  #5  
SkidMan
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 349
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by da Rock View Post
%^$#&^ &^%$#@#
I think you are still in good shape. A guy put together a DX8 to the newer Airware transmitter conversion program. I used it to convert my DX8 files to my DX9 and it worked without a single glitch for me on a whole bunch of models. It was a real lifesaver.

Obviously, YMMV. It is NOT written or supported by Spektrum.

I do not know enough about the DX8G2 but here is a post by someone who does:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
The DX8G2 is part of the DX6-DX18 family. It shares files with them all.
Andy
Go to this website for the conversion: http://mutantdesign.co.uk/spm/

Be sure to read the thread that is linked to on that page. It links to a different forum.

I'd love to hear how it works for you.

Paul
SkidMan is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service