JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

Spektrum AR-7000 and First GEN Spektrum DX7

Reply

Old 07-07-2016, 04:48 PM
  #1  
guapoman2000
Thread Starter
 
guapoman2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,647
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Spektrum AR-7000 and First GEN Spektrum DX7

Hello good people,

First to clear the Air, I have been in RC for 14 years or since 2002 and I consider myself a very knowledgeable RC hobbyist with lots of hard knock experiences.

Lastly, I am looking for sound recommendations from those that are very knowledgeable with SPEKTRUM Radio gear and hopefully with the specific equipment that I am using.

Okay here is my summary (keeping it short so as not to bore):

I have the above listed equipment on-board my Hangar9 F4U-1A 50-Size Electric Corsair and It has perhaps over 40+ flights with this Radio gear and up to three weeks ago has been very reliable and never experienced any ill effects.

Connections:
The AR-7000 alone with the satellite Receiver is powered by the Castle Creations PRO BEC (Dual Power Inputs). Therefore, the E-Flite 60-AMP PRO Switch mode Electronic Speed Controller is used for Brushless Motor Commutation and NOT powering up the Receiver.

I have noticed that when you activate the Model it just sits there for over one solid minute before I hear and see the model actually respond to the First GEN DX7. Yes, I have performed re-bind procedure twice and NO JOY.

The visual observations while I am waiting is the Satellite Receiver starts to flash rapidly and then, it slows down and finally I hear the tones for motor ARM and servos respond.

While I am waiting and model is still not responsive, both Receivers have a solid ORANGE light but, neither the servos nor the motor is ARMed.

It is only when the Satellite gets to flash is when I hear the final tones that the motor has been ARMed and finally servos move!

DOES ANYONE have ANY IDEAS?
guapoman2000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 06:33 PM
  #2  
guapoman2000
Thread Starter
 
guapoman2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,647
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I happened to come across this thread:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=885918

and...................

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1370887

================================================== =========

I just disconnected both ends of the Satellite Receiver and used CRC 2-26 Spray (For Electronic / Electrical Components) and reconnected the Satellite Connector to both the Satellite and Main AR-7000 and now it is connecting almost instantaneous and both receivers are Solid!

The motor Arms and Servos move right away!

Thanks so much for your post replies!
guapoman2000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2016, 03:09 AM
  #3  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,237
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

LOL I was going to tell you to check the remote receiver cable right up till I read your second post
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2016, 04:05 AM
  #4  
guapoman2000
Thread Starter
 
guapoman2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,647
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by BarracudaHockey View Post
LOL I was going to tell you to check the remote receiver cable right up till I read your second post
Thank you for coming over to reply anyway! Better late then never! LOL!

Happy Landings!
Carlos
guapoman2000 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service