JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

9503 battery question

Reply

Old 07-10-2017, 10:02 AM
  #1  
Jim Oliver
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: DEATSVILLE, AL
Posts: 700
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 9503 battery question

Some how I managed to put my 9503x away with the switch "on".......
When I discovered it, the battery low enough that the screen would not come on. After charging over night the voltage shows 11+ volts.

Am I correct in thinking that the battery protection logic shut the Tx down before the battery was low enough to damage the cells?

Is this battery safe to depend on?

Thanks,
Jim
Jim Oliver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 12:57 PM
  #2  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,234
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I would give the battery a few cycles to be sure but usually with a low discharge rate they will tolerate a little abuse.

The radio will shut down when the voltage becomes too low for it to operate.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 07:21 PM
  #3  
Jim Oliver
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: DEATSVILLE, AL
Posts: 700
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks, that's what I thought. Still on the charger and up to about 11.7 volts, it should be ok.

Jim
Jim Oliver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2017, 04:32 AM
  #4  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,234
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You got away one, they may have fixed it on the 9503 but a lot of guys bricked 9303's by doing that. When turning the radio off by the switch it saved and closed the current model in the NVRam, without the switch being shut off, if the battery died it would often corrupt the firmware and the radio would have to go in for service to reflash the board.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2017, 09:19 AM
  #5  
Jim Oliver
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: DEATSVILLE, AL
Posts: 700
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks for the warning! I haven't tried the Tx yet for any type of control action so I will be VERY careful

Jim
Jim Oliver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2017, 09:42 AM
  #6  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,234
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Oh, you will know, if it powers up into the model you're fine. If its corrupt it will give an error on power up, I forget the exact wording but its pretty obvious.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2017, 10:41 AM
  #7  
Jim Oliver
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: DEATSVILLE, AL
Posts: 700
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

On Power up, the TX came back to the model I have been flying. Prelim function tests indicate that it should be GTG, but I will give it a thorough check out before the first flight.

Thanks for the help

Jim
Jim Oliver is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service