JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

Programming crow on DX18

Reply
Old 07-17-2017, 07:39 AM
  #1
Red Beers
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Programming crow on DX18

Can anyone help with this? I'm using a 9030 receiver and flying the 30CC Ultra stick.

The channel assignments are as follows.

1 throttle
2 R ail
3 R elevator
4 rudder
5 L flap
6 L Ail (aux 1)
7 R flap (aux 2)
8 kill switch (aux 3)
9 L elevator (aux 4)

I would like to put this on switch B
position 0 - normal flaps and ailerons
position 1 - flaps and ailerons act as full ailerons
position 2 - crow - flaps down and ailerons up

Is this doable?

Red
Red Beers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 10:07 AM
  #2
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,548
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yes, very doable.

To get the ailerons to go up, you mix to LAL. This back-mixing will make both ailerons move in the same direction (if you mixed to RAL, it would be introducing roll instead).

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 10:52 AM
  #3
Red Beers
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks for the response Andy.

I have the flap system set up on switch D and I wanted to leave that as is and use switch B for the crow. When I mix FLP/LAL I can't seem make the flaps move but I can see the Ailerons move in the same direction but at different rates.

Any thoughts?

Red
Red Beers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 11:02 AM
  #4
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,548
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I'll need your SPM file to help any more.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 11:56 AM
  #5
Red Beers
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Here's the file.
Attached Files
File Type: spm
016~16 3Occ Ultra Stick.SPM (23.5 KB, 2 views)
Red Beers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 12:54 PM
  #6
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,548
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Using the file you gave me, I modified the Flap System to 6 seconds so I could see slow movement. It makes it easier for me to see what's going on, and you'll probably want some delay in real life on your flaps.

Next I went to Mix and added Mix 1 as Normal type.

Then I changed it to FLP > LAL and for fun purposes put rates at 50%/50%. I set them to 50% so I could see some movement but not too much.

I then set the switch to B and made it active only in the middle position.

Now with B in position 0, when I move the D switch I see the flaps move slowly but nothing on the ailerons.

If I move B to position 1, the ailerons jump to the up position. If I flip D, the ailerons come down in sync with the flaps and elevator returning to center.

Because there is no position of the flaps where they are truly at 0, the ailerons are always up a little. You need to adjust that with the Offset field on the Mix screen, or by mechanically fixing the linkage so that there is a position where the flaps are truly at center at the appropriate switch position.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 01:09 PM
  #7
Red Beers
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks Andy. This is really helpful. Now to go try it out.

Red
Red Beers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 08:12 AM
  #8
Red Beers
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Andy,

So to get crow I have to lower the flaps on switch D and then move switch B to position 1. Is this correct?

Red
Red Beers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 08:17 AM
  #9
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,548
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I would move switch B first and then D. That way when you decide to use the speed function on the Flap System (probably an important thing) the crow will come on at the same speed, rather than suddenly.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 08:43 AM
  #10
Red Beers
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I did set the flaps to 6 seconds. Let me ask this a different way just to be clear. Does switch B only move the ailerons? And if so why did we set the rates at 50%/50%?

Does Horizon/Spektrum have more detailed information or examples about mixes other than the manual?
Red Beers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 08:48 AM
  #11
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,548
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Switch B moves only the ailerons.

The 50%/50% is just a number I picked out of the air. It means that when the flaps are on either side of 0 (as set up in the Flap System) that the ailerons will deflect half as much (50%) as the flaps.

Another resource? I have 42K posts on RCG, most of them in the Radios forum. And there are users there who are just as well-informed.

If you're into sailplanes, there are a number of books by Sherman Knight sold through redsailplane.com that might help.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 09:00 AM
  #12
Red Beers
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks Andy, this really helps.

Red
Red Beers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 09:06 AM
  #13
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,548
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You're welcome.

You have to post pictures or videos of your Stick now, you know!!!

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 09:44 AM
  #14
Red Beers
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Here you go. I think I have stage/camera fright LOL, I kinda bounced it in. I'll get more photo's/video's of the crow when we get to Michigan it's too hot in Arkansas.

I'm having trouble getting it loaded, it says it can't find the security token. I'll keep trying. It's 9.3 mb, is that too big?
Red Beers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 09:48 AM
  #15
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,548
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Probably.
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:36 PM.