JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

Installing a Spektrum DX6

Reply

Old 10-25-2017, 06:18 AM
  #1  
tipstall1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ingleside, TX
Posts: 24
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Installing a Spektrum DX6

I am just getting back into the hobby after being out for 12 years and had some questions concerning radio installation. I have a DX6 that I am going to install in a Great Planes PT-60 and was wondering if anyone had pictures of a radio install in one of your planes. Also, I had some questions I was hoping someone could answer.
Q: Do you have to use a remote antenna? I saw some receivers had one included, but the one I purchased did not.
Q: Does the battery and switch harness hook up the same way as back in the 72Mhz days?
Q: There is a long antenna and a short antenna on the receiver, what is the best orientation for these? Do they have to stick out of the plane?
Q: What servos are compatible with Spektrum radios? For the PT-60 I intend to use just standard servos.
Q: Does anyone sell a flight pack any more that includes servos, receiver battery and switch?

I have been searching google and youtube for typical 2.4ghz installations, but only have found info for electrics and BNF planes.

Thanks for any help you can provide.
tipstall1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2017, 06:34 AM
  #2  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,237
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Q: Do you have to use a remote antenna? I saw some receivers had one included, but the one I purchased did not.
Some require a remote some do not, if you purchased it new and it didn't come with one then you are fine.
Q: Does the battery and switch harness hook up the same way as back in the 72Mhz days?
yep
Q: There is a long antenna and a short antenna on the receiver, what is the best orientation for these? Do they have to stick out of the plane?
just mount the receiver as you would, usually on a flat surface. They don't have to stick out, there's some special circumstances like certain recievers for carbon fuselages have longer antennas that do need to be outside a carbon fuse, but what you're talking about, no.

Q: What servos are compatible with Spektrum radios? For the PT-60 I intend to use just standard servos.
Standard servos are fine.
Q: Does anyone sell a flight pack any more that includes servos, receiver battery and switch?
Not that I'm aware of. Find yourself a Life Source or 5 cell nimh pack, best to stay away from the old 4 cell nickel packs in 2.4 installations
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2017, 06:37 AM
  #3  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,237
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I deleted your other thread, you only need to start one thread for a question.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2017, 06:47 AM
  #4  
tipstall1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ingleside, TX
Posts: 24
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks for the quick reply. Do you know if Hitec servos are compatible with Spektrum receivers? There used to be specific connectors on some servos, like J and Z style connectors, for Futaba and Airtronics I think, does this still apply with the new receivers, or are all the connectors the same now?
tipstall1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2017, 07:15 AM
  #5  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,237
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hitec work great, there's a few old servos that aren't wired the same but anything you buy new or within the last 15 years is compatible.

Futaba still uses an index tab but you can shave that off to get them to work as well, the wiring is identical
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service