JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

Need Current sensor telemetry - 100 amp

Reply

Old 01-03-2019, 08:55 PM
  #1  
Bobhend
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: FAIRPORT, NY
Posts: 142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Need Current sensor telemetry - 100 amp

I wanted a current sensor for my DX6G3 for 100 amps. I don't think it exists yet. Would appreciate knowing if one is being developed. I notice that FRSky has a 150 amp clamp-on type. The last think I want is a FRsky radio. They make good product but there is no manual.
Thanks, I love my DX6G3 and over half the club is using Spektrum now, makes training delightful.
Bobhend is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 12:09 PM
  #2  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You have two options from Spektrum:

1) SPMA9590 (discontinued, but sometimes show up on ebay)
2) SPMA9605 https://www.horizonhobby.com/aircraf...ensor-spma9605

The second item provides both current and capacity consumed. They're on backorder right now but a lot of hobby shops have them. They should be available again in a few weeks.

For receiver packs you can use SPMA9604 https://www.horizonhobby.com/aircraf...ensor-spma9604

Andy
Disclaimer: I work for Spektrum
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 04:56 PM
  #3  
Bobhend
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: FAIRPORT, NY
Posts: 142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

OK great on the SPMA9605, I could not originally find the max current spec, and I use the EC5 so I was not even sure it measured current.. I will get one on order and make EC3/5 adapters.. The maximum current spec on SPMA9605 is 100A peak, 60A continuous. My battery pack is 2 of the 6S 5000 in series. The range is perfect.

I have just never been sure what will happen if you over-drive a Castle Creation ESC, will it burn out or automatically limit the current? This is a very expensive device to experiment with. My motor is supposed to run a max average 70A. It could easily handle a burst of 100A. I want to use the Castle Edge 80 but I will probably buy the 120A. I enquired about this issue with castle [ bricking vs protecting] but got no reply.

The plane will be airborne within 10 feet so I expect very brief current overloads. I just so hate the smell of burning airplanes. I had a Turnigy half destroy a new plane and it stunk.

Thanks, Andy I will email Performance Hobby and hopefully it is in stock.
ps motor in question is the 2-pound Turnigy SK3 6374-148
Bobhend is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 05:10 AM
  #4  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The ESC will burn itself out if abused. Get the bigger ESC for headroom.

Don't make an adapter. Replace the wiring on the sensor, or better yet, hard-wire it into the system. The EC3 connectors and wire used are not suitable for 70A use.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service