JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

module qustion

Reply

Old 03-29-2004, 02:36 AM
  #1  
Dauntae
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Bedford, MA
Posts: 1,212
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default module qustion

I know it is not legal to change a TX chrystal in the US but is is legal to change the module with it's own chrystal in my 8103. I believe it is the module that is tuned not the radio itself, (correct me if wrong please) Next question, I have a chance to pick up a NET-J72M and the one in my 8103 is labeled NET-J72P. Will this one work in my 8103.

Thank you
Dauntae
Dauntae is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2004, 10:24 AM
  #2  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: module qustion

Yes, it is legal to swap the module itself, as long as you do not change the crystal in the module. An NET-J72M module is likely a wide band module unless it has been made narrow band, in which case it may have a gold sticker on it. The NET-J72P module is the narrow band module. Both modules though install the same, so if the M module is narrow band, both modules can be used interchangeably.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2004, 11:33 PM
  #3  
shesby
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: module qustion

I can't find the NET-J72P listed on the Horizon wwebsite under that part#. Can you tell me what it is?
Thanks
shesby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2004, 12:24 AM
  #4  
Dauntae
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New Bedford, MA
Posts: 1,212
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: module qustion

On a radio with a module like the JR 8103 there is a box on the back of the radio and the chrystal plugs into the box. I believe the channel tuning is done in the box and not the radio so changing the channel of your TX can be done legaly in the USA if you have more than one Module for your radio. I also did a search on Horizon and found nothing myself. I wonder where they have them listed.

Dauntae
Dauntae is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2004, 10:11 AM
  #5  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: module qustion

The module isn't on our site right now, but the part number is JRPTXM** where you replace the ** with the channel number you want it on.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2004, 10:38 AM
  #6  
shesby
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: module qustion

Just to verify, this module WILL fit my Century VII, right?
shesby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2004, 01:59 PM
  #7  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: module qustion

Yes, those modules are interchangable in terms of installation.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service