JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

JR700 not cutting it for AutoPilot System...

Reply

Old 04-06-2004, 02:50 PM
  #1  
alakra
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default JR700 not cutting it for AutoPilot System...

Hey Danny,

I'm looking for a receiver that will work with my XP8103 other than the JR700 which came with my kit.
The reason I'm doing this is because I'm working with an autopilot module(AP50) for my RC plane that was designed
by a company called [link=http://www.uavflight.com]UAVFlight[/link].

The JR700 Receiver will not work with the autopilot
because of "twitch" when the transmitter goes off and the autopilot takes over. Another problem is that the receiver I need
to get can't hold the last position of the servos when the transmitter is off so that the autopilot can move the servos.

What I am looking for is a JR receiver with at least 6 channels that fits into that category, a JR receiver that acts "dead" when the transmitter is off. Can you reccomend anything?

Thanks,

Angelo Lakra
alakra@spsu.edu
alakra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2004, 09:27 AM
  #2  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR700 not cutting it for AutoPilot System...

I do not know of a receiver that shuts off completely when the TX is off. PCM receivers such as the R770 will either go into hold, or to failsafe that you can set the position of each channel.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2004, 11:05 AM
  #3  
alakra
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR700 not cutting it for AutoPilot System...

What exactly do you mean by
failsafe so that I can set the position of each channel
? Is there some kind of switch on the R770 that chooses between the hold feature and the failsafe? Does failsafe allow relinquishing of the signal lines for the servos? The way the AP50 demands setup is thus: RX connected to AP50 and the AP50 connecting to servos. The autopilot is just acting as the middle man, that's why I need the RX to relinquish control of it's control lines when the TX is off so the AP50 can takeover. Whether the RX unit is powered on or off doesn't really matter I guess with what I'm trying to do (a
JR receiver that acts "dead"
wasn't totally accurate to what I meant, my fault for miscommunication).

I have contacted the company, UAVFlight, and they reccomended that I get a Tower Hobbies RX (S3K 7-Channel DC FM ), but it hasn't been listed to work with my TX. So I emailed them back and asked if they knew of another JR RX other than the R700 and I am awaiting their response.

I Really Really Appreciate your help,

Much Thanks,

Angelo Lakra
alakra@spsu.edu
alakra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2004, 03:21 PM
  #4  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR700 not cutting it for AutoPilot System...

No, that is selected through the TX. No, the signal line is used to go to the preset position. I don't know of a receiver that will do that, you would need to set up some type of switch to shut off the power to the receiver.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service