JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

Amplified y harness

Reply

Old 04-28-2004, 08:56 PM
  #1  
Oldie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Williamston, MI
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Amplified y harness

Hey, Danny:


I recently replaced a JR 700 FM Rx with a seven channel SPCM Rx. I have two servos on the elevators and the y harness to them is "amplified".

This was OK using the FM Rx, but will it cause trouble using the SPCM Rx? The leads are 24" or more long.

Thanks for any assistance you can render.
Oldie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2004, 09:19 PM
  #2  
Oldie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Williamston, MI
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Amplified y harness

Come to think of it, that y harness has electronics for servo reversing, not amplification.

But the question still stands can amplification be used with PCM?
Oldie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 09:00 AM
  #3  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Amplified y harness

The amplified Y harness we carry from JR is for ZPCM applications only, SPCM and PPM should use a non-amplified Y harness.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 09:46 AM
  #4  
bob_nj
My Feedback: (62)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Vineland, NJ
Posts: 3,850
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Amplified y harness

I have a few of the amplified if anyone is interested
bob_nj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 10:02 AM
  #5  
staggerwing
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
staggerwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dun Rovin Ranch, WY
Posts: 773
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Amplified y harness

Danny, I've used the amplified Y's on my S-PCM receivers for a long time (because they were all I could find) with no problems. Do you agree that they will work okay, it's just a little overkill for S-PCM applications?

Rich
staggerwing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2004, 03:57 PM
  #6  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Amplified y harness

They will work fine in most applications, however it is possible that they may cause some servo jitter when used with PPM or SPCM set-ups.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2004, 10:22 PM
  #7  
Oldie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Williamston, MI
Posts: 63
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Amplified y harness

Thank you for the information.

Oldie
Oldie is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service