JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

JR Amplified Y Harness

Reply

Old 12-10-2002, 02:57 AM
  #1  
Carroll-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (43)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texarkana, TX
Posts: 429
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default JR Amplified Y Harness

I'm switching to 6 volt unregulated using Hydramax 1650 5 cell packs. When I plug two JR 8411 servos they will not work until I switcht to a 4.8 pack.
When I use a Futaba y harness, all is fine.
I need these y harness's for my dual aileron setup but can't on 6 volt.
Any advice?
Thanks,
Carroll
Carroll-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 11:24 AM
  #2  
bob_nj
My Feedback: (62)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Vineland, NJ
Posts: 3,850
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default JR Amplified Y Harness

Until Danny can get back to you, do a search on "Y Harness" You'll be surprised how many threads and questions there are on it. You will probably find your answer as it has been discussed ad infinitum. Happy Holidays_bob
bob_nj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 01:57 PM
  #3  
Carroll-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (43)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texarkana, TX
Posts: 429
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default No Info Found

Bob, Thanks for the Search Idea but, I have already done that and couldn't find an answer to my question. Did I mention that I also have to use a Y harness for my dual rudder servo setup? This will also be a problem unless I plug one servo to one rx. and the other to the second one.
Just wondering what this match box refers to.
I assume it means using seperate channels for two servos serving the same control surface.
If I seem a little Ignorant on this setup it is because this is my first time at this 6V dual rec. setup thing and apparently I have a lot to learn and I need all the help I can get.
Thanks,
Carroll

PS. I did use a standard Futaba Y Harness and all worked great regardless of 6V or 4.8. So I am assuming that the amplified Y has a built in resistor to allow only 4.8V.
Carroll-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 02:20 PM
  #4  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default JR Amplified Y Harness

I'm not sure what the problem would be here, unless the Y harness you are using is defective or is causing the problem. In that case, a different Y harness would fix it.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 03:04 PM
  #5  
Carroll-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (43)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texarkana, TX
Posts: 429
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hmmmmm...

Thanks Danny, The Y I am using is new and I even took another one out of the package and tried it with the same results.
Does JR make a simple Y Harness like Futaba and others?
Just wondering, what is the purpose of the amplified Y for?
Thanks,
Carroll
Carroll-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 03:09 PM
  #6  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default JR Amplified Y Harness

JR does make one, but I see that we are out of stock at the moment. It is part number JRPA135. The amplifier was used for ZPCM, that has lower signal strength than PPM or SPCM, and without the amplifier the servos would not get enough signal strength to both servos when a Y harness was used.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 12:06 AM
  #7  
Carroll-RCU
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (43)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texarkana, TX
Posts: 429
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default JR Y Harness

Danny, I received a 5.7 volt regulator from Don.s Hobby and now the Y harness works the 8411 servos. Apparently the Amplified Y will lock out at 6 volts or more. I just wanted to pass this on for your Info.
Thanks,
Carroll
Carroll-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 02:06 PM
  #8  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default JR Amplified Y Harness

That is very odd, not sure of the reason why that would be, there is no limiter or anything in the amplified Y that would prevent it from working. The only thing we have found is if using SPCM or PPM on a 6 volt system with the amplified Y, the servos may jitter or oscillate, but they should still work.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service