JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

Questions for Danny

Reply

Old 12-18-2002, 10:34 PM
  #1  
Tom Gressman
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Questions for Danny

Two questions. 1. Any spec's avaialble on the new 900pcm rx? Will it be more selective than the 9 channel 649 PCM? 2. I have a 388 tx that will not power up or allow a charge circuit. Fuse?
Tom Gressman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2002, 10:38 PM
  #2  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Questions for Danny

I'm sorry to say that I don't have any information on any new receivers from JR. My first guess would be the 3 amp, 250 volt, fast acting fuse has blown. You can pick these up at most radio shacks. Remove the module out of the back of the TX, and look down inside towards the battery pack. You should see the fuse there. Check it out, if it is ok, send the radio in for service. If not, replace and try again.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 07:01 PM
  #3  
Checklst
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 792
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Questions for Danny

Hey Danny I did not think this needed a new thread, but I ran across a small quark! in the 8103 and thought you might like to know. First this is my first computer radio and I and can say without hesitation it the finest radio I ever owned. I found the programming easy, even without the manual.

The problem (at lease to me) came when I was teaching my son to fly (buddy box) for the first time, after 2 flights he was flying the pattern, figure 8 and even a loop (without telling me first) this computer generation learns this stuff way to easy!!!!!!

Sorry on to the problem next flight he wanted to do his first take off so after preflight I lined him up and off he went, a perfect gentle climb out, then at 20 feet off the ground he said DAD I don't have it!!!! I released the trainer switch and to my supprise I did not HAVE control of the old SR/Telmaster Yakes!!!!! what a sick feeling I glanced down at the radio screen and it was dead and for some reason noticed the on switch WAS OFF, I turning it on, all WAS SAVED!!!!!!!!!! IT SEEMS THE 8103 turns on when a trainer cord is plugged in even if the switch is off position my son accidentally stepped on the trainer cord pulling it out of the 8103 on takeoff shutting down the system.

He did remember he plugged the cord in for me when I was fueling the plane(he did not think it was strange for the computer radio to come on automatically (I do) you might want to review this feature with the Tech team I for one don't mind adding one more check to my pre flight(check switch(on)with buddy cord) but someone else might not like this strange feature.

Thanks for listening
Checklst is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 07:15 PM
  #4  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Questions for Danny

That is the way the system is supposed to work for transmitting data from one 8103 to another or to a datasafe, and when used as a slave transmitter. For using with a trainer system, always power up the master transmitter first by flipping the power switch on, then plugging in the trainer cord, and plug the trainer cord into the slave without turning on the power switch. Glad to hear you found it before the plane went in!
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 08:38 PM
  #5  
wgeffon
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 6,378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Questions for Danny

Nice avatar....
wgeffon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 09:56 PM
  #6  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Questions for Danny

I wanted a pic with me in it, but I don't have one with me and the Katana. Maybe some day...
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 10:23 PM
  #7  
wgeffon
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 6,378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Questions for Danny

Wanna fly this weekend?
I can bring my camera.
wgeffon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 10:27 PM
  #8  
ROGER RUSSELL
My Feedback: (12)
 
ROGER RUSSELL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Jacksonville, IL
Posts: 1,316
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default GOOD PICTURE??

Come on guys lets not ruin a good looking picture of an airplane. (LOL) Don't look at my avatar!!! (LOL)
ROGER RUSSELL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 10:55 PM
  #9  
wgeffon
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 6,378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Questions for Danny

Roger,

You doing any flying this weekend?
wgeffon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 11:04 PM
  #10  
ROGER RUSSELL
My Feedback: (12)
 
ROGER RUSSELL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Jacksonville, IL
Posts: 1,316
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hope to

Yes hope to do some, weather and time permitting.
Roger
ROGER RUSSELL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2002, 04:30 PM
  #11  
MRMcFarlandM
Senior Member
 
MRMcFarlandM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO,
Posts: 143
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Questions for Danny

Hi Danny, I have 2 of the current 9 chen.
FM rec. both on 6 Meters. Both of them
get hit when I put them in aircraft with servos in the tail(I have JR noise traps on the leads). however if I use JR 7 chan. FM rec. they work just fine. I have sent one of the 9 chan. rec. back twice no help. Any ideas would be appreciated.
thanks Mike,
MRMcFarlandM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2002, 02:28 PM
  #12  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Questions for Danny

What servos are you using, and what are the servos doing? Are they jittering?
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 09:50 PM
  #13  
MRMcFarlandM
Senior Member
 
MRMcFarlandM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO,
Posts: 143
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Questions for Danny

Hi Danny,
My servos are JR 4721's in the tail
2 on elev. and 1 on the rudder, JR 7005's
for the ail. they don't jitter on the ground
but they do have the typical coreless servo buzz. my ground check range is about 2/3 of what I consider normal for these rec. The 9 chan. rec. work fine in other planes. It appears 9 chan rec.
cannot handle the RF on the servo leads.
Thanks for your reply Mike,
MRMcFarlandM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 10:01 PM
  #14  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Questions for Danny

Long leads shouldn't cause any problems. Do you have any JR amplified Y's in the system? Make sure there is no slop in the control system, the hinges are tight and slop free yet easy moving, and also that the servos are not mounted too rigidly, i.e. screws too tight and mounting rails too tight against the servo. Sometimes heavy control surfaces can aggrivate the problem also. It is odd that it is only on the 9ch receiver.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2003, 10:18 PM
  #15  
MRMcFarlandM
Senior Member
 
MRMcFarlandM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO,
Posts: 143
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Questions for Danny

Hi Danny,
Nope no Y harnesses in the system.
One of the planes is a 2Meter Pattern plane using all carbon fiber push rods
and ball link ends. So it sounds like I'm just stuck using other recivers.
Thanks Mike,
MRMcFarlandM is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service