JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

Glitch in JR TX

Reply

Old 01-22-2003, 05:10 AM
  #1  
RTD
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Glitch in JR TX

My JR8310 (JR3810 in Oz) which is only a two months old has a weird problem. It occasionally causes a servo to oscillate +/- 15% around it preset position.
I noticed it happening on my throttle servo at the field and in the workshop it happened again. I have eliminated the RX from this equation as the TX graphic display was set to show "stick/servo position" and I could see the little indicator oscillating slowly around its preset position.
The TX batteries were getting low but well above the alarm position (these sets beep at you when the battery gets too low). The weather conditions were hot - 90F (32C) but the TX was not in the direct sun.
Looking for some tips as the set is now with the warranty agent and I'd like to give him/her the benefit of your advice.
RTD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2003, 04:55 PM
  #2  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Glitch in JR TX

That is definitely an odd problem. Our best guess is that there is either some small pieces of solder that have come loose and affecting things, a bad solder point on the CPU, or a glitch in the CPU. But this is just speculation, it would really need to be given a check out to know for sure.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2003, 10:47 PM
  #3  
RTD
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Glitch in JR TX

Thanks Danny, I'll pass this info onto the technician.
RTD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2003, 11:07 AM
  #4  
RTD
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 109
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Glitch in JR TX

Danny,
FYI. The technician's report identified a thermal runaway in the processor on the throttle channel. Too technical for me but the result was a new TX to replace my faulty one. My thanks to the Oz distributor of JR, O'Riley's.
RTD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2003, 01:53 PM
  #5  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Glitch in JR TX

Glad to hear they got your TX taken care of!
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service