JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

Diodes?

Reply

Old 02-03-2003, 05:14 PM
  #1  
Tony Gag Jr.
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (124)
 
Tony Gag Jr.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Terryville, CT
Posts: 1,113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diodes?

Do JR radios have diodes that prevent the radios from being discharged? If so is there a website with a diagram that shows how to jump the diodes? The specific radios I need to know about are the 421EX and 652.

Thanks,
Tony
Tony Gag Jr. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2003, 05:17 PM
  #2  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diodes?

No current US aircraft systems have diodes. There are a couple surface radios that do have diodes. The 421 and the 652 do not have diodes in them.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 01:24 AM
  #3  
Tony Gag Jr.
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (124)
 
Tony Gag Jr.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Terryville, CT
Posts: 1,113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diodes?

This might be a really stupid question. Since the 421 and 652 do not have diodes does this mean I can cycle them with the battery in the transmitter? Also will I be able to use a peak charger like the Sirus charger without taking the battery out of the transmitter.

Thanks again,
Tony
Tony Gag Jr. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 02:46 AM
  #4  
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,935
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default same question

I have the same question as Tony. How about a answer? Thanks
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 05:11 AM
  #5  
Peter Khor
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 554
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diodes?

fwiw I have been charge/cycle the TX batteries on Quattro, 421, 652, 662, 8103 thru the charge jack - just remember that it's -ve center, and I charge at 1A max and dischange at .6A or less (it will get warm in there).
Peter Khor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 01:55 PM
  #6  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diodes?

Yes, you absolutely can cycle the battery while in the transmitter, but do stay under 1 to 1 1/2 amps or you can overload the fuse.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 03:28 PM
  #7  
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,935
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 1-1/12 amps

How about the Sirrus charger. Is that over the charge limit? Thanks John
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 05:28 PM
  #8  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diodes?

I'm sorry to say that I do not know the specs of the Sirus charger.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2003, 12:27 AM
  #9  
Tony Gag Jr.
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (124)
 
Tony Gag Jr.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Terryville, CT
Posts: 1,113
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diodes?

I talked to a rep from Sirius and he said the Pro Series charger only charges at .5A so it is ok to use in the JR transmitter. dsnyder thank you for the info, it was very helpful!!

Thanks again,
Tony
Tony Gag Jr. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2003, 01:57 PM
  #10  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diodes?

No problem, and thank you for the info!
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2003, 02:53 PM
  #11  
captinjohn
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hesperia Michigan, MI
Posts: 12,935
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Diodes?

Danny & Tony...thank you both......Regards Captinjohn
captinjohn is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service