JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

throttle problems

Reply

Old 02-03-2003, 07:07 PM
  #1  
soulman
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Didsbury, AB, CANADA
Posts: 94
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default throttle problems

I fly an Extra 300 s .40 size with a Super Tigre 60 and a JR MAX 4 FM. Yesterday I was out and experienced what I can best describe as throttle hunting. I'll explain. After landing, I turned the aircraft around and powered up to return to refuel. The engine gained maybe 200 rpm and no more response on throttle for about 10 seconds. I turned myself so that the aerial was not pointing directly at the plane and throttle control came right back. Next. Thinking (possibly stupidly)this was a fluke, I fueled and went up again. All went well till I was about to touch down. I suddenly got Throttle hunting. 400 rpm about. Abort landing and go around. Landed without incident. Packed up and went home frustrated. Any opinions?
soulman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2003, 07:43 PM
  #2  
vinnie
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: hollywood, MD
Posts: 651
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default throttle problems

1. Check Batteries!
2. Swap out the throttle servo.
3. CHECK BATTERIES!
vinnie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2003, 08:15 PM
  #3  
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default throttle problems

The throttle servo may have a bad pot. It would be a good idea to either send in the servo and have it checked out, or replace with another servo and see if that cures the problem. Always perform a thorough range test before flying to be sure nothing is wrong. If anything odd shows up during the range test, do not fly the plane until a solution is found.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 04:12 PM
  #4  
soulman
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Didsbury, AB, CANADA
Posts: 94
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default throttle problems

Thanks for the reply. I range check my plane before flying every thim I go out. In this instance I went a full 100 feet before any chatter started. I also check my battery levels w/ a digital voltmeter. tx= 10.52 v, rx= 5.30 v. I will definitely change my throttle servo and will update as I have new info. Thanks again!
James
soulman is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service