JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

9303 4 servo wing programming

Reply
Old 10-05-2007, 01:16 PM
  #1
ncrego
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NOttingham, NH
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 9303 4 servo wing programming

Maybe someone can help, how do I program a 4 servo wing into the X9303? I have the Hangar 9 35% 260, and it uses 2 servos per aileron, I've been using matchboxes, but have now changed to the 9ch receiver and want to do it in the radio. What I've come up against is there doesn't seem to be any way to use the Flaperon mixing, so I have to choose normal wing type, then slave gear to aileron, and Aux 3 to flap, and then make a mix in the regular transmitter programming to link it all together. Is that correct? Doing it that way works, but isn't nearly as nice as having the flaperon mix turned on, and just slaving the channels in the device select screen, but it won't let me do that!
ncrego is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 04:55 PM
  #2
ncrego
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NOttingham, NH
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9303 4 servo wing programming

Well, I got it all set up today, I turned off Flaperon, and slaved Gear to Ail, and Aux3 to Flap, and then made used Mix 6 to link those. In all, it works very well, and the channels get relabeled in the radio to LAIL, LFLP, RAIL, RFLP which makes sense. I just thought that there was a canned mix built in to do it, but making one myself wasn't difficult.
ncrego is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 04:59 PM
  #3
Josey Wales
 
Josey Wales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: **, NJ
Posts: 4,741
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9303 4 servo wing programming

So the way you have it setup--you dont need any Y"s correct ?
Josey Wales is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 08:21 PM
  #4
ncrego
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NOttingham, NH
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9303 4 servo wing programming

Yuppers, just plug them all in.
ncrego is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 08:55 PM
  #5
Josey Wales
 
Josey Wales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: **, NJ
Posts: 4,741
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9303 4 servo wing programming

Awesome!! Ive got a new 9303 2.4 coming my way and wanted to do the same as you for my 35% Yak
Josey Wales is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 08:25 AM
  #6
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9303 4 servo wing programming

The aileron trim will not work on the slaved channels in a program mix. The only way for the trim to work is through the flaperon or the dual aileron functions in device select. It is not possible to use 4 aileron servos directly with the 9303.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 09:29 AM
  #7
ncrego
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NOttingham, NH
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9303 4 servo wing programming

You're absolutely right, I just pulled out my X9303 and trimmed while watching the monitor screen, and sure enough the inboard servos on the wing do not move with the outboards. That's ridiculous, why in the world would JR put out a transmitter that doesn't transfer trim to slaved channels? I should have kept my 9z and just bought a module.
ncrego is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 08:17 AM
  #8
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9303 4 servo wing programming

It doesn't because it has built in functions to use in place of program mixes for dual functions. Most program mixes are not include type mixes.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 08:19 AM
  #9
ncrego
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NOttingham, NH
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9303 4 servo wing programming

That's really too bad, the DX7 had the mixes transfer in last 2 programmable mixes. It's a shame they didn't do that in the X9303. Well, I guess I'm being forced to buy a 12x now.
ncrego is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 08:36 AM
  #10
dsnyder
 
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 9,365
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9303 4 servo wing programming

The DX7 doesn't have the built in dual functions that the 9303 does, and it only has 1 program mix that is include type.
dsnyder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 09:50 AM
  #11
Zeeb
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland Utah UT
Posts: 4,607
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9303 4 servo wing programming

Quote:
ORIGINAL: ncrego

You're absolutely right, I just pulled out my X9303 and trimmed while watching the monitor screen, and sure enough the inboard servos on the wing do not move with the outboards. That's ridiculous, why in the world would JR put out a transmitter that doesn't transfer trim to slaved channels? I should have kept my 9z and just bought a module.

I have a very nice 9Z that's now up for sale as my new X9303 finally got here if you're really interested....

Seriously though, I have just started learning the programming on the X9303 and it's a nice radio with lots of capabilities, but it's not in the same class as the 9Z. You're trying to compare two radios that have a substantial difference in cost, my 9Z was almost twice what this new X9303 cost. If you want something similar to your 9Z then you ought to be either looking at the 10X or wait for the 12X.

OR you could just wait for a 12FG I guess??????
Zeeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 11:15 AM
  #12
Josey Wales
 
Josey Wales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: **, NJ
Posts: 4,741
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9303 4 servo wing programming

So there is no way to run 2 aileron servos per wing without having to use a Y harness then ?
Josey Wales is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 03:13 PM
  #13
Troy Newman
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Goodyear, AZ
Posts: 2,429
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9303 4 servo wing programming

A Matchbox would be a better solution than a "Y" harness.

The matchbox allows you to adjust the subtrim, reversing, and end points of each servo seperately.

Each MatchBox can handle up to 4 servos. So you could put all 4 servos on the single aileron channel.

However since you have a large model and power concerns for 4 high powered servos would be in play. I would use a matchbox device on each wing. In this case the MatchBox would act like a "Y" harness but allow you to fine tune each servos end points and center to keep them from fighting each other on the same aileron.

If youuse a simple "Y" harness the servos you will not be able to tweak end points and centers. This requires a really good mechanical linkage that is nearly impossible to get perfect. The Matchbox method works very very well for this application.

I'm doing this right now on Bipe of mine with 4 ailerons servos on the 9303.

Troy Newman
Team JR
Troy Newman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 03:50 PM
  #14
Josey Wales
 
Josey Wales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: **, NJ
Posts: 4,741
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 9303 4 servo wing programming

Im using Hitecs so I don't really need a matchbox/equalizer--I can do all that with the programmer--I was just looking for a way to eliminate the Y's--no big deal though
Josey Wales is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:48 PM.