Community
Search
Notices
JR Radio & Spektrum Radios Discuss all your JR and Spektrum gear.

Spektrum Marine Receiver > 1/4 Hitec servo???

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2010, 10:40 AM
amrharrymac
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Spektrum Marine Receiver > 1/4 Hitec servo???

Need Help, I am new to some aspects of the hobby mainly radio details, new to 2.4 GHz.

I am fitting radios into 2 large scale boats projects: ( 1- 60" gas boat and 1- 48" 13cc tunnel-hull outboard)
Normally I would use 1/4 hi-torque servos for steering like the Hitec HS-5745MG, digital servo.

I have the DX3e and MR3000 combo with the s200 standard digital servo and s6020 hi-torque digital servo that I am installing into a smaller 7.5 outboard tunnel hull and I believe this will work OK butI don't know what I can get away with the MR3000 on the bigger applications?

Will the MR3000 handle enough current to run a big servo without toasting something?

I have read the User's Guide but there is no information about compatible servos or current output?
Old 04-04-2010, 10:18 PM
amrharrymac

Default RE: Spektrum Marine Receiver > 1/4 Hitec servo???

So I learned with a little research that if a receiver has a BEC, battery elimination circuit, then for a high current drain such as that a High-torque servo can cause, a glitch or brownout can be created.

I know the Spektrum systems have an awesome recovery algorithm for a signal interuption but why take the chance for an expensive radio system and much more expensive high performance racing boat? I asked this question on the website, 1st time it was ignored, second time redirected off of my question.