KingTech Turbines International Barry is your host and will help you with all your Kingtech questions and concerns.

Checking in flight data

Reply
Old 10-12-2012, 11:48 PM
  #1
mun_iz
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SingaporeSingapore, SINGAPORE
Posts: 141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Checking in flight data

Hi,

I have a K140F mounted inside a SM 2m Viper. I noted that the fuselage of my plane is hot to touch after landing.

Was wondering if there is anyway for me to check the maximum temperature encountered during flight using the ground support unit.

Thanks.

Isaac
mun_iz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 06:03 PM
  #2
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Hood Tx
Posts: 5,820
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Checking in flight data

Only way would be to use a temp probe like venom car temp sensor or if you have a radio with telemetry and use a temp prob. The turbine data will just show turbine stuff, nothing for max ambient temps.. Where exactly is it hot? Normally jets will feel hot from the turbine tail cone to a few inches past bell mouth. Its a very common place people will add heat suppression materials like aluminum tape, BVM Heat paint, or my favorite ceramic heat blanket material. All are cheap and work great. Hope this helps
FenderBean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 05:05 PM
  #3
mun_iz
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SingaporeSingapore, SINGAPORE
Posts: 141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Checking in flight data

hi FB,

Thanks for your reply.

Sad thing is I don't have telemetry on my plane. I was hoping that there is some back door in the ECU software that allows me to peek at the parameters rather than spending extra $ to buy a third party telemetry system.

I think the fuselage of my plane is quite constrictive... there is little space for hot air to escape... eventhough I had cut some ventilation holes in the bottom of the fuselage. I do use heat suppression rubber foam tape (those with aluminum foil on one side and adhesive back).

Now it feels hot to touch at the front end of the compressor area where there is no insulation.

Isaac
mun_iz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 06:51 PM
  #4
FenderBean
 
FenderBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Hood Tx
Posts: 5,820
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Checking in flight data

whats your gap between turbine tail cone and the bell mouth? I looked through the programming to make sure didnt see anything. What would really help is to get a small external temp probe
something like in the link below
http://www.ebay.com/sch/sis.html?_nk...e+used+NO+RES+
This little guy will give you max temps during the flight, I bet that when jet is in the air the temps are much less and like my f-16 once I land and taxi in it will warm up around the bell mouth and be hot to the touch which is normal.
FenderBean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 01:11 AM
  #5
mun_iz
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SingaporeSingapore, SINGAPORE
Posts: 141
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Checking in flight data

FB,

Mine is not a bell mouth but rather the funnel type opening. Distance to start of narrow section from edge of exhaust cone is somewhere ~20-25mm.

Thanks for the link... I will look into getting one of the temp monitoring devices.

Isaac
mun_iz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:10 AM.