Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets > Turbine Clinic > KingTech Turbines International
Reload this Page >

Does this look like a normal K180G start?

Community
Search
Notices
KingTech Turbines International Barry is your host and will help you with all your Kingtech questions and concerns.

Does this look like a normal K180G start?

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2014, 09:28 AM
BlueBus320
My Feedback: (57)

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Does this look like a normal K180G start?

Just checking before I install, I have no previous experience with Kingtech turbines, & very little with fuel start.
Thanks guys, Jay
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cS-Uxsrftgs
Old 03-06-2014, 10:24 AM
FenderBean

Received 79 Likes on 52 Posts

My first impressions are no but I would need to see each phase, you should be able to get a much faster spool up. I have yet to run a 180, but I have ran the 170s and all mine are much faster. Post your settings and maybe a video of just the terminal box showing the phases.
Old 03-06-2014, 04:28 PM
Erik R
My Feedback: (32)

Received 18 Likes on 11 Posts

Jay,

I have 2 K180G's,and had 2 170 kero starts. Also experience with a friends 180G. Your start was on the long side, as in a little slow spooling, but I would consider it in the normal range. It seemed smooth, and blew very little flame,which is good. The extreme cold OAT may be a contributing factor to the slow spool up. I wouldn't change anything, and see if your starts are consistent,and maybe a little quicker in the warmer weather. Good luck,

Erik
Old 03-06-2014, 08:11 PM
mauryr

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Are you burning diesel?
If so I think that's more or less what you're going to get during cold weather. With kero I've seen much quicker startups.

You can speed up the preheat phase a bit by increasing Engine Fuel Preheat a little (5% or so), revert if you get flames and just keep it the way it is: it will be faster in warmer weather.