Notices
KingTech Turbines International Barry is your host and will help you with all your Kingtech questions and concerns.

G2 ecu with g version turbine?

Old 10-07-2018, 07:38 AM
  #1  
sysiek
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (176)
 
sysiek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago , IL
Posts: 1,740
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default G2 ecu with g version turbine?

Just wanted to know if the new g2 ecu will work with the older g version turbine and the g version fuel pump? Thanks
sysiek is offline  
Old 10-07-2018, 10:03 AM
  #2  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,110
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I doubt it. The original stuff is all XiCoy and the G2 stuff is all made by KingTech. IIRC when I asked Barry about it, he said none of the stuff was interchangeable including the stuff inside the engine.
Zeeb is offline  
Old 10-07-2018, 02:30 PM
  #3  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 1,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

There’s a tread somewhere in this one.....saying yes it’s possible, but would cost a lot of $$ many things have to change...
Dansy is online now  
Old 10-07-2018, 03:27 PM
  #4  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,110
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Dansy View Post
There’s a tread somewhere in this one.....saying yes it’s possible, but would cost a lot of $$ many things have to change...
Barry told me that they wouldn't do it, too much money and messing around. He said sell my old engine, I have a first gen K-210, and buy a new G2.
Zeeb is offline  
Old 10-07-2018, 04:23 PM
  #5  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 1,571
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Zeeb View Post
Barry told me that they wouldn't do it, too much money and messing around. He said sell my old engine, I have a first gen K-210, and buy a new G2.
That could have been that tread if it was here....
Dansy is online now  
Old 10-12-2018, 05:12 AM
  #6  
sc0tt
My Feedback: (61)
 
sc0tt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ORD
Posts: 535
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by sysiek View Post
Just wanted to know if the new g2 ecu will work with the older g version turbine and the g version fuel pump? Thanks
A standard pump (like old G series) does not have the solenoid valve and may flood your turbine with fuel during the G2 "priming" phase. You could make your own priming by-pass using an external solenoid valve but why bother complicating things. The Xicoy system is reliable, so I'd just stay with those components on an older G series.

Side note, a year ago I sent a K210-G in for service and specifically asked to upgrade to a G2 (ECU, pump, GSU, harness). Dirk was awesomely honest and talked me out of it saying it was a waste of money in my situation, but could be done. At that time, I was led to believe the physical engine is the same and only the external plug in components were different between the kero start series - however this may have changed on their latest turbines.

Last edited by sc0tt; 10-12-2018 at 05:15 AM.
sc0tt is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.