Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

cub kit

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2011, 06:52 AM
artjumps

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default cub kit

I am new to the hobby, and was interested in a Sig Cub kit someone has for sale for $50. Is this a good price for that kit, and how difficult would it be to take on a kit build like this for someone who has never done one before?
Old 05-21-2011, 07:12 AM
Gray Beard
My Feedback: (-1)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: cub kit

SIG has some of the better instructions, same with Great Planes. Both have nice photos of each step of the build. If your good at following instructions and have some understanding of airplanes then kit building isn't too hard at all. The SIG Cub should be just fine as a first build if you don't rush the job. I THINK if you go onto there web site you can look at the instructions and decide for yourself if you want to give it a try. Look up the price and decide for yourself. Make sure all the parts are in the kit. I just built the CG Cub for a friend and someone had removed and used way too many parts to do a repair on another plane. I was able to build the plane but it was a lot more work then it should have been.
Old 05-21-2011, 07:18 AM
DUCO

Depending on which one, heck for that matter any of them, yes a very good price! Agree with the given advice, great intructions and plans with SIG kits.
Old 05-21-2011, 08:51 AM
pt19 flyer
My Feedback: (1)

hi artjumps

hope you don't have the hazel sig cub. this is a stick built model and would be somewhat
difficult for a first time builder.
this was a terrible flyer, hope you have better luck with yours if it is the same kit.
just remember, rudder, rudder, rudder. I built it as a clipped wing but order the full
wing kit also. had to shim the trailing edge up about 1/4+ inch to get it off the ground,
tended to ground loop.