Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Top Flite Spitfire MkIX Build

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Top Flite Spitfire MkIX Build

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2011, 02:43 PM
Cprl_lilhorn

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Top Flite Spitfire MkIX Build

Hello enthusiasts!

This is my first build post, although it is my fourth plane build. I'd like to start by saying, "WOW!" this kit is intense. I've enjoyed it though, and look forward to finishing the plane. I plan to add Robart retracts, flaps, and an RCV 90SP engine with an impressive 4-blade prop when things are all said and done. So far, I have built: stab/elevator assembly; fin and rudder; and the left wing panel. In the following posts I'll link pictures and describe my experiences throughout the build. If anyone has constructive criticism or comments, as well as recommendations for future stages of the build, please reply to this post!! I'd love to hear from modelers with more experience.

In addition to the aforementioned plans for this plane, I intend to use Fabrikote and airbrush camouflage and panel markings at some point. This will not likely happen any time soon as I only have a few hours a week to dedicate to building the Spit.

Well, that's it for an introduction. Now for the goods!
Mario
Old 07-13-2011, 03:52 PM
Cprl_lilhorn

Default RE: Top Flite Spitfire MkIX Build

To begin the build, Top Flite has you build the tail surfaces. This portion of the build was pretty straight-forward, with a few hangups that I'll outline below.