Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

***CUB BROTHERHOOD***

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

***CUB BROTHERHOOD***

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2015, 04:32 AM
Cub Man
My Feedback: (50)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by flyerdave
I need to tap into some of the knowledge base here on this cub thread. I have been flying RC for over 35 years now and have probably flown 100 different airplanes. I’ve had a couple Carl Goldberg anniversary cubs but never had a sig. A few days ago, I found out that a gentleman not too far away who was an avid builder had passed away and his son was going to sell off some of his planes. One of them was a ¼ scale sig cub,covered in silk and finished in cub yellow. Hanging on the front of it is an OS 160 twin four stroke. Anyway, I got it from him and I’m about as happy as a child at Christmas. The one item missing was wing struts, he couldn’t find them. Is my best option to just order a set from sig or would I be better off to just buy the materials and build a set from scratch? I’m not sure how long the plane had been sitting but I do know the plane has never flown, the fuel tank had never been installed and the fuel lines had never been run through the firewall. I can’t know for sure that the engine was new but it sure looks like it is. Thanks for the help, I’m really looking forward to getting this one in the air.
Put a few photos online of the plane unassimbled, the struts for all the old balsa USA and Sig were sticks that you made into struts. I have instructions on my site for making some struts that you make to fit any of the 1/4 scale models.
Old 07-30-2015, 09:27 AM
acdii

Received 97 Likes on 88 Posts