Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Sig Kadet LT-40 Radio/Engine Question

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Sig Kadet LT-40 Radio/Engine Question

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2012, 07:36 AM
FlyingTgr6

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sig Kadet LT-40 Radio/Engine Question

I'm pretty new to the RC world, having started with a $90 foam Champ and wanted to try something bigger and heavier. I bought a kit, because I've always loved building plastic AC models and I'm studying to become an A&P mechanic and I figured it would help with some aspects of study (hands on type of thing). Anyway, since I don't know about such things, what kind of engine would you recommend for someone who has very limited flight time? I don't need/want something super fast.

In the same vein, I'm looking around at all the options for servos and radio gear and am feeling a bit overwelmed as to all the options available. So again, for someone in my position, what would be some good choices for the electronics in this particular AC? I not really sure if all transmitters would work with all recievers and how they react with certain servos, etc.

Thanks in advance!
Old 04-22-2012, 09:14 AM
soarrich
My Feedback: (98)

Default RE: Sig Kadet LT-40 Radio/Engine Question

OS .40 LA is a good motor. Any of the major brand beginner 4 channel radio with the standard servos is fine in the Kadet.
Old 04-22-2012, 09:24 AM
FlyingTgr6

Hey thanks...I was looking at a few motors that OS has, so I'm glad to see I'm on the right track with that. As far as radio gear, any chance you could get a little more specific in terms of brands that I should gravitate to, or particular models?
Old 04-22-2012, 09:31 AM
SeamusG

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The LT40 in standard form needs 4 servos: Aileron, Rudder/nose wheel, elevator and throttle - thus the need for a 4 channel radio and receiver.