Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Balsa USA Phaeton II Need Help

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Balsa USA Phaeton II Need Help

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2012, 03:46 PM
Honker1
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Balsa USA Phaeton II Need Help

Hello all,

I have built numerous planes over that last 35 years but never a biplane. I have finished building a Phaeton II .40 Bi-plane (great build by the way) and am having a really hard time getting the rigging right. I really need some help, I can get things right on the board but when I try to solder the fittings in place I really have a hard time getting it right. I have tried CA to hold them in place but when I go to solder everything moves and my solder joints are bad. I am an aircraft mechanic (have build 2 experimetal planes) but have trouble with this solder thing, any suggetions?

Anyone???

Thanks,

Pat
Old 08-23-2012, 09:49 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: Balsa USA Phaeton II Need Help

Hi there Honker, I'm not sure what is envolved with that kit, but when I did my busa sopwith pup rigging, it called for some joints to be wrapped with wire. Basically wind heavy hard drawn wire around the joint. I always use surgical gloves when soldering, you need to keep every part free of any contamination whatsoever. Use some very fine sandpaper clean all surfaces, use flux paste and solder together. Heat the part and apply the solder to the part, not the iron, the solder will flow to where ever the flux is applied. The interplane n struts on the pup didn't need to be wrapped but you could crimp the parts to the wire so they stayed in place while you are working on them. You will need a 100 watt iron or larger.
Old 08-24-2012, 04:07 AM
smithcreek
My Feedback: (25)