Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

What happens if arf and kit building prices meet?

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

What happens if arf and kit building prices meet?

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2013, 05:49 AM
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)

Received 271 Likes on 236 Posts

MTK, I have several scratch projects in development one I hope to start building soon. I see scratch building as building the kit then building the airplane!
Old 11-20-2013, 08:44 AM
Gray Beard
My Feedback: (-1)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

I just got a tower talk last week, I think the price has or is now close to the same between the two types, ARF or kit. Most of the guys I fly with couldn't build a kit so it doesn't really mater what the cost is. I have been building from plans for a couple of decades and I'm able to build big planes for a fraction of the cost of either kit or ARF. If someone gives me a kit or I find a great deal I enjoy building them. I also started in the hobby long before ARFs were on the market, if you wanted to fly you had to build. The building is something I enjoy a lot more then the flying so I don't buy ARFs. Most of the guys I know could care less about building and will never try it. I don't see the cost as ever being a factor these days but the prices have closed up and getting close. I about fell over when I saw the price of the foam electric planes. They have really jumped up in price. I now have one of the foam cutters goirish makes and have been making wings and stabs for friends when I have the time. Fantastic machine he builds!!!
Old 11-20-2013, 09:33 AM
FlyerInOKC

If I remember correctly the kit is usually cheaper and then when you add in everything to finish it is where it passes the ARF. But looking at say a TF 182 I think the kit works out cheaper.
Old 11-20-2013, 11:28 AM
Gray Beard