Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Beginner Build - tools question

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Beginner Build - tools question

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2012, 12:24 AM
dakoris73

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginner Build - tools question

Hey guys;

I've been poking around this kit building forum reviewing alot of these posts for some ideas of what kind of tools a beginning builder would need, and from the many posts here, I've seen so many cool looking tools and ideas, that quite frankly, I'm a bit overwhelmed as far as what to start with. here's the situation:

I'm a first time builder, and have little to no tools or experience in this area, but very excited to try my hand at this. I also have a very limited budget with which to purchase tools, supplies, or anything else I need and I have no clue as to which tools I need at a minimum to get me started with my first kit. I've already acquired a hollow core door to use as my building table, and I do have some #11 blades and several CA bottles as well, and I do have several small plastic clips/clamps from harbor freight that I've used with putting my arf's together with.

Aside from what I have listed, for the very newbie beginning builder, what basic tools should I get that will help me with my first actual kit build project? For what its worth, I do have an Tower Hobbies Uproar kit that most likely will be the first kit I put together, but I wanted to be sure I have the basics on hand before I start this kit. I also have a PT-25 autogyro kit as well that I am hoping to get put together during this building season, but that most likely will wait until after the Uproar is built.