Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 35

Thread: Flap Problem


  1. #1
    JollyPopper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Mountain Home, AR
    Posts
    2,297
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Flap Problem

    I guess this is the correct forum for this question. It does concern building a kit. For you advanced guys out there, I am building an RV-4 with functional flaps. I have them wired to channel 6 of the receiver with a "Y" harness and the servo arms on both servos are pointing away from the fuselage. So when I turn the knob, one flap goes up, the other goes down. I realize I could change one of the servo arms so that both arms point the same direction but that would then mean that I would have three servo arms going one direction (both flaps and one aileron) and the other arm (the other aileron) would point the other direction. Now, I know that guys don't really turn your plane over and study the direction that the servo arms are pointing, but just because I'm that way, I would like it to be symmetric with the airleron arms pointing toward the fuse and the flap arms pointing away from the fuse. Are reversed servos available? Or a Y harness with one leg reversed? Or what other method can I use to get the arms on both flap servos pointing in opposite directions but travelling in the same direction when the knob is turned? Does this make sense to anyone?
    \"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice; In practice, there is\"

    Intolerance is not to be tolerated

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ontario, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    3,525
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    If your Tx and Rx have that capability connect the two flap servos on their own ports.

    Zor

  3. #3
    k12rc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    reidsville, NC
    Posts
    752
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    If you don't have enough channels youse a JR match box
    don\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'cry\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\' till\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'it hits

  4. #4
    eddieC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jackson, MI
    Posts
    2,102
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    There are reversing Y-harnesses available, or get an 8 or 9-channel radio & rx.
    I might not be very good, but I'm fun to watch!

  5. #5
    JollyPopper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Mountain Home, AR
    Posts
    2,297
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    Wel, I've figured out a way to do it but it would involve mixing servos and I'm not sure I want to do that. I am using Hitec HS425BB servos. I was reading on Servo City's web site that Hitec and Futaba servos turn in opposite directions given the same input. So if I changed one of the flap servos to a Futaba of about the same speed and torque, it should work. It means snaking the servo wire out of the wing and then pulling it back through the formers but it could be done. I don't know if I want to mix servos though.
    \"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice; In practice, there is\"

    Intolerance is not to be tolerated

  6. #6
    eddieC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jackson, MI
    Posts
    2,102
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    That's worth a try. If you have servos in already, just tie a piece of dental floss to the end of the wire, and use it to snake the new servo wire through.
    I might not be very good, but I'm fun to watch!

  7. #7
    JollyPopper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Mountain Home, AR
    Posts
    2,297
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    I have some good used Futaba servos, but no new ones. I could try a good used one and see how it works.
    \"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice; In practice, there is\"

    Intolerance is not to be tolerated

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ontario, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    3,525
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem


    ORIGINAL: eddieC

    That's worth a try. If you have servos in already, just tie a piece of dental floss to the end of the wire, and use it to snake the new servo wire through.
    Why dental floss ?
    Anything wrong with a strong ordinary string ?

    Zor

  9. #9
    RICKSTUBBZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Hempstead, TX
    Posts
    1,178
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    Jolly,

    If you have some older servos, as in before surface mount technology. The servo travel can be reversed. I am not near my notes. But as I recall on the old servos - you reverse the two wires that go to the β€œpot” and the two wires that go to the motor. That is what I did for the flaps on my β€œWild Stik”.

    This goes back to the days before servo reversing switches. You once could buy β€œreversed” servos. Man that goes back a while. As in early 80's and bottom end radios.

    Of course the easy way is a servo reverser in line with your Y harness. HobbyKing has them reasonably priced.
    Rick, AMA 115812-WACO Brotherhood #75
    To discover something better....You must be willing to try something different

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    York, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    1,230
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    You can reverse the direction of a servo quite easily.

    Open the case.

    Reverse the two wires which connect the motor.

    Reverse the outer two wires which are connected to the pot.
    .
    .
    .
    .
    Oh, I see that Rickstubb just said exactly this.

    Anyway, it only takes a couple of minutes to do.

  11. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    2,670
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    "You can reverse the direction of a servo quite easily. "

    Until they "improved" things, and you could no longer take ANYTHING apart.:-((((((((((((((((((((

    Les

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    York, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    1,230
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    Well, I'm out of touch.

    I am still using some servos from the late '80s.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Willingboro, NJ
    Posts
    45
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    There are a couple of companies that make a Y harness with a reverser circuit. Our local hobby shop stocks them for about $9. The reverser circuit even has an adjustment to center the servos. I've used these when I was running double elevator servos and my radio didn't support that feature.

  14. #14
    Instructor's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Swoyersville, PA
    Posts
    450
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    Hi Bogbeagle,

    Those servos are the best type for reversing, since they don't have "Surface Mount Technology". Surface Mount Technology is where the motor and pot are mounted to the amplifire board and you can't reverse them. I do it all the time using even Hitec non digital servos.........

    Larry

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Macedon, NY
    Posts
    237
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    I'd like to ask a question. Are you using a 2.4 radio? you can't use amplified Y or reversed y with a 2.4 Spektrum system if you are using one. I found out the hard way. I'm using Hitec HS5645 servos on my P-47, but I have the hitec programer so I can reverse the servos that need to be going in the opposit direction. I also can use the extra channels to do the same thing on my 11X. hope this info helps. John T.

  16. #16
    JollyPopper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Mountain Home, AR
    Posts
    2,297
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    John, yes I am using a Futaba 7C for this airplane.

    bafflerback, do you recall who made the one that your local hobby shop has? If I knew the brand, I might be able to find it.

    RICKSTUBBZ, I've looked at the Hobby King site but can't find them. Can you maybe tell me where to look in their site?
    \"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice; In practice, there is\"

    Intolerance is not to be tolerated

  17. #17
    Instructor's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Swoyersville, PA
    Posts
    450
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    Hi JollyPopper,

    Go to this web site and you will find them there: http://electrodynam.com/rc/EDR-106/index.shtml Andy is a real nice person to talk to and he will be more than willing to help you out.....


    Larry

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Willingboro, NJ
    Posts
    45
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    I checked with my local hobby shop and he gets them through either Horizon Expert or NPI. He has both in stock. As per using with 2.4 I don't know about Futaba but I have one of these in my Edge 540 and one in an Extra 300. They are working fine with my DX7 and DX8.

  19. #19
    RICKSTUBBZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Hempstead, TX
    Posts
    1,178
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    Here you go Jolly and everyone –Links to HK’s:

    Servo accessory page
    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...cessories.html

    Servo reverser lead $1.99 each
    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s..._Reverser.html

    Reverser and speed controller $7.59 each
    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...Regulator.html

    Rick, AMA 115812-WACO Brotherhood #75
    To discover something better....You must be willing to try something different

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Downers grove, IL
    Posts
    35
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    On the few Top Flite airplanes I've built,(p-51, At6), that have flaps, I haven't used any reversing harnesses. If you look at the servo mounting plates on their models, the slot for the output arms are not in the same location. This is because one servo is turned over so the output arm is moving in the same direction as the opposite servo.

  21. #21

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Middlefield, OH
    Posts
    116
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    The best way to reverse a servo is what some of the previous posts mentioned. Open the servo, reverse the two motor wires, and reverse the two outer wires on the feedback pot. I'm not sure what digital servos look like on the inside, so I don't know if this applies to those as well or not. I had to do this on two servos on on of my planes. It's more secure and foolproof than a reversing harness. The easiest way is still to simply use another receiver channel, and mix it.
    Lifetime member of PETA, People for the Eating Of Tasty Animals

  22. #22

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Scappoose, OR
    Posts
    462
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    Hi Fellows: Ok, this problem arrived at my door step when purchasing a F-22 Hanger 9 Raptor ARF. I elected to go with the reversing JR servo while using all Hitec else where. The expense was a waste. The JR did not rotate the same as the Hitec, and i failed to check this movement of both brands. So out came the JR, and in when another Hitec wired to a reversering "Y" connector. Problem solved. In my reading on forums, there has been some discussions about changing the wiring in a servo, and at times there is smoke. It has been mentioned on this forum to view the Hobbyking website for parts to solve the reversing. With a few dollars more, the flaps work just fine, and the model is considered air worthy after completing the build. Buy a couple of the reversing "Y"s, and be reading for the next flap job.

    aerorich73@centurylink.net

    Rich

  23. #23
    a65l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    va veach, VA
    Posts
    1,957
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    No mixing required. Both flap servos to different channels. Both channels controlled by the same aux channel, and assign that channel to a knob, or slider, or switch or whatever you want. Adjust direction in reversing menu and endpoints so they don't buzz. Done in less time than it took me to read this whole thread and post this.....
    In God I trust.
    All others pay cash.
    Balsa USA Brotherhood #84

  24. #24
    eddieC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jackson, MI
    Posts
    2,102
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    No mixing required. Both flap servos to different channels. Both channels controlled by the same aux channel, and assign that channel to a knob, or slider, or switch or whatever you want. Adjust direction in reversing menu and endpoints so they don't buzz. Done in less time than it took me to read this whole thread and post this..... 

    U R the man!
    I might not be very good, but I'm fun to watch!

  25. #25

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Stansbury Park, UT
    Posts
    937
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Flap Problem

    How many channels are you planning on using in your radio? If you have the ability to plug the flap servos into separate outputs on the receiver you can then use the "P Mix" function in your TX and mix them together.

    Oops...saw that somebody beat me to it In my opinion, using a mixing function in the TX is easier than Y-harnesses as you can adjust the direction and throws of each servo separately.
    GS


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:16 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.