Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Covering Lazy Ace

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Covering Lazy Ace

Old 03-03-2013, 01:36 PM
Skip
My Feedback: (76)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Covering Lazy Ace

I bought a Lazy Ace kit at rhe Perry Georgia event. Would Solartex be a good option to cover the plane? I have never used it before. I usually cover with Ultra Cote. I was thinking of using red and painting trim with Rustoleum. I will be using a small gasser for power.
Old 03-03-2013, 02:36 PM
Jacque
My Feedback: (22)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Covering Lazy Ace

solar-tex is the easiest covering I have worked with. after I have covered the model I cover with water based minwax poly ,it helps to keep the fabric klean

Good luck
Jacque WAco Brotherhood #27
Old 03-04-2013, 04:26 AM
TomCrump

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

ORIGINAL: Skip

I bought a Lazy Ace kit at rhe Perry Georgia event. Would Solartex be a good option to cover the plane? I have never used it before. I usually cover with Ultra Cote. I was thinking of using red and painting trim with Rustoleum. I will be using a small gasser for power.

As stated above, Solartex is easy to apply. Rustoleum does work well on it.

Rustoleum does need to be sealed, however. If it isn't the covering attracts dirt.

My suggestion would be to cover your airframe in natural solartex, and paint the airframe red. Then mask it off, and paint your trim.

That is the process that I've been using.

I'd like to post a pic to illustrate my point, but the site is experiencing problems. Here's a link to my Spacewalker, painted in Rustoleum. http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...356049&page=38

It's the larger Spacewalker in the pic. The smaller one is covered in Solartex and painted with Nelson Hobbies paints.
Old 03-04-2013, 07:26 AM
RCPAUL
My Feedback: (1)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts