Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Solartex covering and painting advice needed

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Solartex covering and painting advice needed

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2013, 07:29 PM
lamarkeiko
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Solartex covering and painting advice needed

I've been building a BTE Venture, and I'm almost at the covering stage. I have some rolls of white Solartex to cover with, and I plan on painting on top of that, with the final coats being spray painted using a HVLP gravity gun and latex paint. I have covered planes with Monolote, Ultracote and Sig Koveral in the past, with the Koveral being painted with rattle-can Rustoleum. I have never used Solartex before, nor have I used a spray gun, so I'm anxious to try both. One delima I have is covering the fuslage of the Venture. As I look at the job, the only part of the fuslage that requires Solartex is the turtle deck and the openings in the sides just below the turtle deck. What I'm considering doing is just covering these openings, then using a latex primer over the entitre fuslage once Solartex is applied. I will then sand smooth, and add more primer and continue sanding until I achieve a good smooth fill. The line where the Solartex stops on the fuselage, I could use either use a spackling compound or more primer and then feather out with fine sandpaper until I have good smooth transition. I will probably just brush the primer, since it will be sanded, but I intend to use Home Depot paint tinted to my colors of choice and spraying the final colors, then clear coating with Lustercote for fuel proofing. I would appreciate some opinions on what I'm planning on doing. If there are better Ideas, I would love to hear them. Also, should there be any type of finish applied to the bare wood before Solartex is applied?