Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Masking and Painting Cowl Blisters

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Masking and Painting Cowl Blisters

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2013, 09:20 AM
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)

Received 44 Likes on 43 Posts
Default Masking and Painting Cowl Blisters

After many years of sitting around in the bare bones, after retirement I am finally getting around to finishing my Monocoupe D-145. It started out as the IKON N-west kit but I like to think of it as scratch building using some of the kit parts as anyone who has built an IKON kit would understand!

I'm an experienced builder with many seasoned skills but I've discovered that masking all those 14 cowl blisters for paint is not one of those skills! Here is the problem: This cowl has no clear line where the blister stops and the cowl begins. The blisters have a large, smooth radius as they blend into the cowl. Deciding exactly where to mask on that radius is difficult. I can easily mask one or two of the blisters but I can't seem to maintain any consistency for all 14! It seems that pre-cut vinyl masking stencils might be in order but I have no experience with this sort of thing.

Does anyone have any suggestions or can you point me in a direction to complete this task? Have you used masking stencils before and where can these be sourced. Any suggestions to complete this task would be appreciated. Yes, I did some searches and read quite a bit about this but feel I still need some more guidance. The paint will be Klass Kote. Thanks in advance!
Old 12-19-2013, 06:33 PM
gravlrd44

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

www.getstencils.com Ocala, FL Ask for Vicki or Jerry
Old 12-20-2013, 05:59 AM
Russmall

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts