Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

.40 great planes sportster bipe

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

.40 great planes sportster bipe

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2014, 05:33 PM
lyvewire

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default .40 great planes sportster bipe

Hello all! So I just aquired a great planes sportster bipe .40. The instructions seem very vague. I have never built a biplane. I am an intermediate builder. There are only ailerons on the bottom wing. No outer struts like most biplanes. Also there isn't a dyhedral brace on the main wing....just fiberglass cloth over sheeting. I want to add outer wing struts and i will be going glow with this. Has anyone built one of these kits? I need some information before i lay it on the building table. Thanks in advance!

Beau
Old 04-03-2014, 07:50 AM
carlgrover

Received 20 Likes on 18 Posts

I built mine many years ago. Ailerons on the bottom wing only are fine. Mine snaps easily. You also won't need the dyhedral brace. Fiberglass cloth will be fine to reinforce the center section. Mine has no outer wing struts. Doesn't appear to need them. If you build it per the plans it will be just fine. The only thing to watch out for is engine choice. I put a Fox .40 in mine originally and it was so tail heavy I swapped it out for a .50. It balance perfectly with that engine. Others have told me they had similar experience with it.

It's a fantastic flyer. I've got tons of flights on mine.

Carl
Old 04-03-2014, 09:37 AM
Bax
My Feedback: (11)

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

If the model is built exactly to the plans and instructions, it will fly very well and be a lot of fun!

We're not sure what you mean about the instructions being vague. You have a detailed instruction manual with photos of each step.
Old 04-03-2014, 01:40 PM
RICKSTUBBZ

Received 28 Likes on 25 Posts