Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Top Flite Cessna 182 *81" Gold Edition Build Question

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Top Flite Cessna 182 *81" Gold Edition Build Question

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2015, 09:52 AM
Jack McC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Top Flite Cessna 182 *81" Gold Edition Build Question

I am at the point of mounting an OS .91 FS. Sideways mounting, the needle valve is vertical and the adjusting pin will protrude through the top of the cowl. Mounting it upside down the pin will protrude through the side of the cowl. I have not been able to find the solution in the several build threads for this plane, and got tired of looking further. Do you just live with the pin through the cowl or is there another option?

This is my first build with a fuel model having done electrics in the past. I would greatly appreciate any input.

Jack
Old 01-14-2015, 07:20 PM
JCOKEEFE
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I sold my Cessna about a year ago. I mounted my four stroke upside down with needle valve, high and low end, accessed through a hole in the side of the cowl. I like to get the engine tuned as well as possible after complete break in and do not use a needle valve extension which protrudes through the side of the cowl. I do this for looks. Once I get the engine set to where it runs properly, idle and wide open throttle, I leave it alone. Some folks like to adjust the needle valve every time that the engine is started. This shouldn't be necessary. On those rare occasions that a slight adjustment is necessary, I will try to do it by accessing the needle valve though the cowl hole.
Old 01-15-2015, 09:02 AM
Jack McC