Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Ikon nwst super cub help

Reply

Old 01-27-2015, 04:48 PM
  #1  
ghenson
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (68)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Alvin, TX
Posts: 196
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ikon nwst super cub help

I've got a partial framed up ikon super cub. I do not have the plans or instructions. I need help on how the wings mount to fuse. I do not have the struts so they will have to be built. Any assistance would be appreciated.
ghenson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 03:58 AM
  #2  
TomCrump
 
TomCrump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 7,609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Typical IKON construction has each wing half bolted through the fuselage, into the wing.

A blind nut is placed in the wing's root rib.

This is a pic of my IKON Lockheed Vega. The retention method is similar to this, on most IKON designs.

The struts can be made from hardwood stock. Attachment points must be installed in the wings and fuselage.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	m_001.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	699.5 KB
ID:	2068538  
TomCrump is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 04:25 AM
  #3  
ghenson
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (68)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Alvin, TX
Posts: 196
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I see u have a wing tube. My cub doesn't look like it was designed to have a tube. There are no holes in the ribs to accept the tube. I would much prefer to use a wing tube but I'm not sure how to drill the ribs out properly.
ghenson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 04:36 AM
  #4  
TomCrump
 
TomCrump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 7,609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Wing tubes can be adapted. I did this on the Vega, but I cut the ribs to accept the socket before construction.

It can be done, after the fact, but it's a pain in the" assets."

This is my IKON Cessna Airmaster. It originally utilized a brass wing tube arrangement. After building the airframe, I changed directions, and added the wing tube and sockets.

The holes for the sockets were cut oversized, the wing leveled and incedence set, and then shims were added to hold the sockets.

These are the only pics that I have, illustrating my process.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	m_DSCF3077.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	416.0 KB
ID:	2068545   Click image for larger version

Name:	m_DSCF3083.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	398.8 KB
ID:	2068546   Click image for larger version

Name:	m_DSCF3084.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	389.0 KB
ID:	2068547   Click image for larger version

Name:	m_DSCF3085.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	378.4 KB
ID:	2068548   Click image for larger version

Name:	m_DSCF3092.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	252.5 KB
ID:	2068549   Click image for larger version

Name:	m_DSCF3095.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	271.0 KB
ID:	2068550   Click image for larger version

Name:	m_DSCF3216.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	410.8 KB
ID:	2068551  

Last edited by TomCrump; 01-28-2015 at 04:40 AM.
TomCrump is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 07:54 AM
  #5  
ghenson
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (68)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Alvin, TX
Posts: 196
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks Tom. The pics really help. I had it in my head that I would have to drill I perfectly. I can get it close then level and reinforce. What did u use for the socket?
ghenson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 10:16 AM
  #6  
TomCrump
 
TomCrump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 7,609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I buy my sockets and tubes from TnT. They are available in matched sets. http://www.tntlandinggear.com/wing_tubes.htm
TomCrump is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 04:21 PM
  #7  
ghenson
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (68)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Alvin, TX
Posts: 196
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Can u recommend a tube size for this plane?
ghenson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 03:05 AM
  #8  
TomCrump
 
TomCrump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 7,609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Without knowing the rib dimension, it would be difficult to make a recommendation.

Choose a socket size with an OD that leaves you at least 1/8", to the rib's edge.
TomCrump is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service