Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

worst kit youve ever built

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

worst kit youve ever built

Old 06-18-2015, 04:39 PM
ramboy

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by skyraider71
The GP PT40 was too complicated for a trainer kit,.
In what way?
Old 06-18-2015, 06:05 PM
buzzard bait

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Don't know what the PT40 was like to build, but as a club instructor I think it is a very good trainer.
Old 06-19-2015, 08:31 PM
foodstick

Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts

The PT 40, my buddy had one and loved it. I used to call it the FLYING four by four !
Old 06-19-2015, 10:00 PM
chuckk2

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Long ago, good Balsa was hard to find. Seems that it and cork were being used as insulation for LNG tanker ships. One "super" tanker could almost use up the years crop of cork.
Balsa of decent quality just disappeared from the hobby store's shelves, and the poor quality of what was available put a serious crimp in my modeling efforts.
About the time things started getting better, kids and moving around more or less did in both time and spare money! Now that the kids are grown, and we seem to be more or less
settled in one location, and I'm retired, I no longer have the patience to scratch build or stick build models. I'd rather put a decent ARF together, and fly it!
Old 06-20-2015, 03:45 AM
Smashmaster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The PT-40 was my first plane,and first build. That was probably over 30 years ago. It was mid 1980's
It was a lot of work,but I enjoyed putting it together. I bought a new 40 FP for it. Those 40 FP's are really good motors in the right plane. But on damp grass it's barely enough to get a PT 40 off the ground..