Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Venture 60 vs Flyin King

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Venture 60 vs Flyin King

Old 06-03-2016, 06:49 AM
gunnarmm

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Venture 60 vs Flyin King

Hey all,

I was about to order a Venture 60 from Bruce Tharpe Engineering when a friend of mine offered to sell me his Flyin' King kit for about half what he paid for it. Now I am not sure which to buy.

Does anyone have any experience with this planes? Any preferences one way or another? I am graduating up from a trainer that I have been flying for 2 years (Hobbico Superstar 40) so this will be a second plane. I want to start learning basic aerobatics with the next plane but I also want an easy flyer that won't be too much of a handfull. Thanks!
Old 06-03-2016, 07:23 AM
Lowvoltage

I think you would be very happy building the Flyin' King or the Venture 60. When you open the box and look at the kit and the wood used you will be glad you got it. Instead of building over the plans, I figure out the rib spacing and lay the center lines for the ribs out on white paper with a square. These kits will spoil you.
Joe
Old 06-03-2016, 07:55 AM
RBACONS
My Feedback: (3)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The Flyin' King is not really an aerobatic plane. Its a slow, high-wing plane. Trainer like. Loops, rolls, basically anything you can do with your existing trainer. The Venture is a more aerobatic platform but still forgiving. A good step up plane from a trainer. You can learn to do things like a cuban eight, immelman, split S, inverted flight, maybe knife edge, etc. Read up on the Four Star 60 to see what to expect.
Old 06-03-2016, 04:02 PM
biam

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

I vote for buying both of them to satisfy whatever flying mood your in! ��
Old 07-02-2016, 03:07 PM
Klaatu
My Feedback: (4)