Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Beginner Builder Seeking Advice

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Beginner Builder Seeking Advice

Old 07-14-2016, 01:16 PM
eli.musgrove9

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginner Builder Seeking Advice

Hey all!

I am a beginner builder and flier (own 2 Walmart quality airplanes.) I am looking to turn my game up and build my own 4 channel aircraft. I'm not looking to make anything fancy (need a durable body as I will crash a lot.) Can anyone suggest a build and some equipment/credible brands I might need?

Any help appreciated!

Last edited by eli.musgrove9; 07-14-2016 at 01:22 PM.
Old 07-14-2016, 04:44 PM
Hydro Junkie

Received 130 Likes on 123 Posts

Two words:
Sig Kadet
Old 07-14-2016, 06:41 PM
RagwingFan
My Feedback: (31)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Last edited by RagwingFan; 07-17-2016 at 07:58 PM.
Old 07-16-2016, 07:11 AM
flyboy2610
My Feedback: (1)

Received 37 Likes on 29 Posts

I started with a Great Planes PT-40. Really nice stable plane.
Old 07-17-2016, 01:55 PM
Hydro Junkie

Originally Posted by RagwingFan
plenty of great trainers out there. even better, they are cheap on the used market. get hooked up with a club that has a trainer program. it will save you a lot of planes while you are learning.

if you go foam and electric,there are plenty with built in gyros. they will save you as well. I have seen young kids at field flying the Apprentice. foam high wing trainer. lot of built in self correcting features.

you will need to decide electric or nitro. each have their benefits
If you go back and read the original post, HE WANTS TO BUILD A PLANE, NOT BUY ONE
Old 07-17-2016, 07:48 PM
Leroy Gardner

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Sorry for that first poor response, was no help at all, Shame on me.

Last edited by Leroy Gardner; 07-20-2016 at 08:08 AM.
Old 07-17-2016, 08:49 PM
skylark-flier