Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

New Kadet Reporting For Duty

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

New Kadet Reporting For Duty

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2018, 05:48 PM
wakehand

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Kadet Reporting For Duty

Hopefully i won't flunk basic... This is my first build - a Sig LT-40 Kadet which I picked up off ebay. It was sold as NIB and complete but after unpacking it and inventorying the contents, it appears to be missing the pack of (12) 1/8 x 3" x .600" SW-3 Shear Webs... I guess I'll just buy a sheet of balsa and cut some new ones out myself. Anyways, I'm looking forward to getting started. So far I've set up a workstation and taped down the plans. I had wanted to start gluing tonight but it seems my tightbond II has gone bad.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1437.JPG
Views:	73
Size:	1.65 MB
ID:	2251450   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1436.JPG
Views:	79
Size:	1.96 MB
ID:	2251451   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1435.JPG
Views:	74
Size:	2.24 MB
ID:	2251452  
Old 01-17-2018, 07:22 PM
biam

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

Good luck on your build. Tite bond is my preference also. Check your plans for correct orientation of the grain of the balsa when cutting your new shear webs.
Old 01-18-2018, 12:59 AM
Hydro Junkie

Received 130 Likes on 123 Posts

One piece of advice I'm going to give is IF YOU COME ACROSS SOMETHING YOU DON'T UNDERSTAND OR CAN'T FIGURE OUT, ASK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last edited by Hydro Junkie; 01-18-2018 at 01:19 AM.
Old 01-18-2018, 07:55 AM
rgburrill

Received 76 Likes on 67 Posts

The local Hobbytown USA is less than a mile away and I pass it going both to and from work. Great place to stop when you run out of Tightbond.
Old 01-18-2018, 08:01 AM
wakehand

Originally Posted by biam