Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Finish - Models, Balsa, Fuel Proof

Old 08-22-2018, 04:42 PM
Lee Taylor

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Finish - Models, Balsa, Fuel Proof

Back in the day we covered our balsa model planes with butyrate dope. Then Monokote was invented. Great stuff. Used it for decades. What do people use today if they want a liquid or spray fuel-proof balsa filler/coating?

Name:  42399895790_7039b58812_o.jpg
Views: 210
Size:  7.6 KB

Last edited by Lee Taylor; 08-23-2018 at 05:09 AM.
Old 08-23-2018, 11:46 AM
jaka

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Hi!
I have been using 2-part auto paint for the last 40 years on nearly all my models.

Marutaka DC-3 Powered by two OS FS.26 four strokes.
Old 08-23-2018, 11:59 AM
Lee Taylor

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Seems to work. Tks for the photos!
Old 08-25-2018, 06:18 AM
Lee Taylor

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

I suppose I should rephrase my question. First off I have done NO research, so I don't know what is out there. Used Monokote on almost everything. If I wanted to start painting, what should I be looking at?
Old 08-25-2018, 07:43 AM
mgnostic

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback