Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Building my second kit! BTE Venture 60

Reply

Old 11-27-2018, 10:42 AM
  #1  
Ghia
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 77
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Building my second kit! BTE Venture 60

I built a Sig LT40 from a kit years ago and I enjoyed it! Now I want a BTE Venture 60 as a second airplane. But the parts aren't labeled and I'm scratching my head some and will need some help on this kit. I started the wing but haven't glued anything yet.

Questions:

What will dual aileron servos get me over the 1 aileron servo mount like a LT40 has? I plan to use 130oz, .20 speed promodeler digo servos in the venture 60. If I need twin aileron servos for this plane can I mount them after I build the wing? I'm hesitant to glue anything till I understand this servo thing.

Thanks

http://big-mick.com/uploads/editor/pm/csqq3cbr37ek.jpg
Ghia is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2018, 11:31 AM
  #2  
ETpilot
 
ETpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: East Texas
Posts: 929
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Here is a build thread you can read thru. Builder was on his second build too as I recall. This build thread may help.
All my builds have been scratch builds. I used dual aileron servos on all of my builds. If you go with dual aileron servos you need to provides holes in the wing ribs to run your servo wire. You can, also, place a wing tube in the wing as a conduit to run your servo wires. Iíve done both. Cutting your servo wire holes in the ribs is easily done before you build the wing. Iíve done it that way plus, also, cut the holes after the build. It is more involved doing it after the build.

From reading about this airplane kit, the kit maker seems to provide good customer support. You may try contacting the kit maker. Bruce Tharpe Engineering is the company. btemodels.com

Just post questions here in your thread for help as you build this kit.

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?2786329-BTE-Venture-60-kit-Samsara
ETpilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2018, 01:31 PM
  #3  
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 4,900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Dual servos give a much more direct mechanical connection to the ailerons. This helps to eliminate any potential of flutter and gives a better overall feel when flying. Just a better all around setup than the older strip aileron setups using one servo.

I built a Venture way back when the kit first came out. An excellent kit and the airplane survives to this day in almost pristine condition and it has hundreds of flights on it. I enlarged the ailerons for a faster roll rate as I didn't like the way my friend's flew. I also blocked in and shaped the nose to fair the front to a spinner. The engine us turned on the side with the muffler down so the plane hardly gets any oil on it from the exhaust.
Truckracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2018, 07:32 AM
  #4  
TomCrump
 
TomCrump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 7,609
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

To me, 130 oz servos seems like major overkill on a .60 sized bird.
TomCrump is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2018, 10:52 AM
  #5  
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 4,900
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by TomCrump View Post
To me, 130 oz servos seems like major overkill on a .60 sized bird.
Overkill yes, but good quality, higher torque / faster servos really don't cost much if any more than lesser performing ones these days.
Truckracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 09:48 AM
  #6  
Ghia
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 77
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks for the replies guys! I appreciate ya'll experience on building!
I sent a email to Bruce Tharpe on dual Aileron servos and he said same as ya'll that dual ail servos are a good idea and I will add them once wing is built. Here is the servo I will use all around on this plane:

http://www.promodeler.com/DS130DLHV

at 6.6v on a life RX pack it is 85oz torque which I THINK is plenty on this kit.

Pics

Drill (2) .250 inch holes in ribs


Set dihedral of the root rib


Venture 60 kit


Pin down wing panels

Last edited by Ghia; 11-29-2018 at 09:56 AM.
Ghia is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 02:30 PM
  #7  
ETpilot
 
ETpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: East Texas
Posts: 929
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Don’t forget the rib holes for your servo wire. Best do them before gluing wing together. May need to widen those in the ribs. Didn’t see them at first.

Last edited by ETpilot; 11-29-2018 at 02:50 PM.
ETpilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 02:56 PM
  #8  
Ghia
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 77
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks Etpilot! Yeh I thought of that, if I take the servo wires out of their futaba plug ends they will fit thru current holes.
Ghia is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 11:30 PM
  #9  
Ghia
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 77
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Ribs and shear web glued down

Ghia is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service