Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

TF Beechcraft Bonanza F33A Build

Reply

Old 09-12-2019, 02:02 AM
  #251  
VincentJ
Thread Starter
 
VincentJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Peterborough, NH
Posts: 3,895
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default



Servo bracket after glass beading. Wasn't really necessary to do this step, but it sure does make it look purdy!!!


VincentJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 04:34 AM
  #252  
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 9,957
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Now you are just showing off! I like it, I like it!!!!
FlyerInOKC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 06:44 AM
  #253  
VincentJ
Thread Starter
 
VincentJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Peterborough, NH
Posts: 3,895
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by FlyerInOKC View Post
Now you are just showing off! I like it, I like it!!!!
LOL, Thanks Mike!
VincentJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 03:02 AM
  #254  
VincentJ
Thread Starter
 
VincentJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Peterborough, NH
Posts: 3,895
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default



The aileron's servo wire is far too short to to reach its exit point at the top of the wing. This is a common problem that is easily rectified by adding in an extension to lengthen the lead. I want to make sure that the electrical connection never separates so I use heat shrink tubing to solve this problem. Here I've slipped a length of heat shrink over the extension wire.




Simply slide the connector somewhere beneath the center point of the heat shrink.




Using a heat gun, shrink the tubing. Some builders use a lighter for this purpose, but I prefer not to use that method, as it can apply too much heat melting the insulation wires beneath.




This is how it should look like completed. Trust me in that this connection worn't separate and it will also be protected from moisture. In the future, should this connection need to be separated, simply slice the heat shrink off...

Last edited by VincentJ; 09-15-2019 at 03:04 AM.
VincentJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 05:01 PM
  #255  
mkjohnston
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wichita Falls,TX, TX
Posts: 388
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi Vincent, I did exactly the same thing with my dual Ailerons on my A-Ray. Do you a Y adapter where the leads come together in the center of the wing? I did this but I also bought a reverser that i got a swap meet and I was talking to a fellow modeler who told me that I didn't need this because i could just put the link on the opposite side that rotates the other direction. I have not finished construction yet on this wing but i have two other wings that will need the same set up! I hope to get this done this year but I have working very long hours lately and don't have much free time except on weekends
Thank You
Michael
mkjohnston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 06:07 PM
  #256  
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 9,957
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

As cheap as servos are now days it doesn't make sense NOT to have dual servos for the ailerons and the flaps. In some cases I have added a separate servo for a nose and/or tail wheel.
FlyerInOKC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 11:19 PM
  #257  
VincentJ
Thread Starter
 
VincentJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Peterborough, NH
Posts: 3,895
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by mkjohnston View Post
Hi Vincent, I did exactly the same thing with my dual Ailerons on my A-Ray. Do you a Y adapter where the leads come together in the center of the wing? I did this but I also bought a reverser that i got a swap meet and I was talking to a fellow modeler who told me that I didn't need this because i could just put the link on the opposite side that rotates the other direction. I have not finished construction yet on this wing but i have two other wings that will need the same set up! I hope to get this done this year but I have working very long hours lately and don't have much free time except on weekends
Thank You
Michael
Michael, I'm not using a "Y" harness because I dedicate separate channels for each servo. I prefer this method, as I can adjust each servo independently. If you've got the channels in your transmitter why not use them!

I hear you on the long hours. After a long day at work, I head to the gym for 1-1/2 hours, then home to cook dinner and eat. By that time I'm beat and too tired to make it into my workshop.

Last edited by VincentJ; 09-15-2019 at 11:34 PM.
VincentJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 11:25 PM
  #258  
VincentJ
Thread Starter
 
VincentJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Peterborough, NH
Posts: 3,895
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

[QUOTE=FlyerInOKC;12550551]As cheap as servos are now days it doesn't make sense NOT to have dual servos for the ailerons and the flaps. In some cases I have added a separate servo for a nose and/or tail wheel.[/QUOTE
Mike I agree with you. Any time I'm building and the plans call for a single servo to actuate two ailerons, that is the first thing that gets that gets changed using two servos...
VincentJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 03:26 AM
  #259  
EF
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: HAIFA, ISRAEL
Posts: 378
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The shrink over the servo-extension connection is obviously a good thing, but why do you bother with this connection instead of simply cutting off the plug and receptacle, and making a soldered connection between servo and extension?

I always extend the servo leads that way, and have found it to also be economical (I buy servo wire by lengths of several meters, very cheap). If you need to replace a servo (a rare occasion) you can always cut the wires and re-solder a new one.

Last edited by EF; 09-16-2019 at 03:30 AM.
EF is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 04:23 AM
  #260  
VincentJ
Thread Starter
 
VincentJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Peterborough, NH
Posts: 3,895
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by EF View Post
The shrink over the servo-extension connection is obviously a good thing, but why do you bother with this connection instead of simply cutting off the plug and receptacle, and making a soldered connection between servo and extension?

I always extend the servo leads that way, and have found it to also be economical (I buy servo wire by lengths of several meters, very cheap). If you need to replace a servo (a rare occasion) you can always cut the wires and re-solder a new one.
There is absolutely nothing wrong with your logic here EF. I know many modelers that do exactly that. With virgin connectors on both ends, the chance of having a electrical failure is pretty slim so I can trust it to do its job. So for me it's just easier to plug and play sort to speak. If, on the other hand I were using a used servo or extension lead, then your method would prove more reliable. Thanks for your thoughts!
VincentJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 06:56 AM
  #261  
GameEngineer
Junior Member
 
GameEngineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: El Cajon, CA, USA
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by FlyerInOKC View Post
As cheap as servos are now days it doesn't make sense NOT to have dual servos for the ailerons and the flaps. In some cases I have added a separate servo for a nose and/or tail wheel.
I agree. I've even seen separate servos for each gear door. I started a TF P-51 years ago and its still sitting in a half-built state. It has single servo with bellcranks for the ailerons but I plan on modifying it to dual servos. In my recent work I've opted for Y-cables but I see the value in using separate channels for ailerons (aileron and Aux in my case).
GameEngineer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 10:33 AM
  #262  
mkjohnston
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wichita Falls,TX, TX
Posts: 388
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hey Vincent, I just happend to have Futaba 8JA and I think there is mod in the set up where i can do that I just havent got that far into the programming end yet! I work night M-F and the last two I came in at 5:30 pm. I didnt get off until 8 am the next day and this happened almost every day that week and to the middle of last week when it started to trend down. Mondays are always the worst day. so we shall see thanks
Michael
mkjohnston is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service