Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Bad covering job!!!

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Bad covering job!!!

Old 11-11-2003, 11:02 PM
A_LOTA_NOTA

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bad covering job!!!

Need some advice...... I'm new to the hobby & have final finished my first kit. I wasn't real confident in doing the covering so I took it to the locale Hobby Shop & they quoted me a price. but when I went to pick it up, they covering looked horrible. Air bubbles everywhere & doesn't look like they took out any dents like they said they would. Now the guy won't fix it & won't strip the covering off so I can have it redone. Just wants me to pay him for it or he will hang it up to sale. What do I do?
Old 11-11-2003, 11:25 PM
dalolyn
My Feedback: (7)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Bad covering job!!!

I would pay him or her and move on, once bitting twice shy ,next time look at some work they have done in the past. I should learn to use this advice more often myself. fly the plane If it is still in good condition, when you are ready to try something else, strip it and recover it your self. what kinda plane is it? My mentor would tell me "just cover the damn thing, do you want to learn to fly or have a plane that looks good". covering is not as difficult as it may seem after you get started you will be three times better on your second piece then the first . PS always have your knife sharp.
Old 11-11-2003, 11:27 PM
Miloh

An action in small claims court might get his attention. I would not hesitate for a minute to slap his ass with a day in court. I have not seen the work so I can't take either side but if you make it cost him more than it's worth to fight it you just might win. but the most damage could be done by just taking it out to the local field and show it off.