Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Tiger .60

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Tiger .60

Old 12-21-2003, 12:08 PM
mars

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tiger .60

Hi all.
I know alot of you have built a tiger. So I'm hoping there is some advice out there.
Tail-dragger, flaps, high altitude flier, big prop, best tail wheel set up, etc.......

Also on a engine....
The plan was for a magnum 4stroker like a .91, but reading about broken cam shafts and such........

Thanks all! Happy Holidays!
Old 12-21-2003, 02:26 PM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Tiger .60 . Building suggestions?

A 91 4-stroke is ideal for this plane. I can't comment on Magnum because I have no experience with their 4-strokes. I do, however like Graupner 13.5 x 8 props on a 91/4

As far as the other things go, Flaps are not needed, and I set them up with nosewheels, mainly because it comes with the kit, and the ones I have built were for rookies, and I don't like to get someone into a taildragger until they are proficient at flying.

The only mod I made to this kit was to taper the elevators and rudder, and that was purely for cosmetic purposes.
Old 12-21-2003, 06:38 PM
Boss248

Mars...The only thing I wish I had done on my T60 was move the main landing gear blocks back 1/2". It was terrible about going everywhere dragging it's butt. I read that the ARF T60 does the same thing...the reason I did not do the mo.d to mine will building was due to the change in elev. and rudder pushrods...I use the Sullivan lagre carbon strle flex rods in mine so I thought not using the supplied 1/2"sq. would solve the wanna be tail tragger problem but it did not. Other that that I was ok with everything else.
Old 12-21-2003, 11:40 PM
mars

So a big no on the flaps.
Carbon push rods sound great. A flexable cable on the throttle.