Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

how hard is it to build a kit

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

how hard is it to build a kit

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2004, 10:36 PM
electricfan
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how hard is it to build a kit

ive been building arfs for a couple years and i want to try a kit. my questions are: how long will a typical 40-60 size aerobat take to build and cover for a first kit? i heard kits are more reliable and stronger than arfs because you build them. is this true? what supplies do i need other than a covering iron and some modeling pins? who makes the best kits that are the easiest to build(laser cut, perfect fit type kits)? what does an arf include that a kit does not (other than covering)?
thanks
Old 01-08-2004, 10:53 PM
CafeenMan

Default RE: how hard is it to build a kit

That's a heck of a lot of questions - none of which have concrete answers. I think building kits is EASIER than assembling an ARF because when I build I can make sure the parts fit. Plus, I do things like build the firewall before it's glued in so it's a lot easier than trying to put blind nuts in the right place than it is when you build an ARF and the pre-installed nuts don't match the included motor mount.

Anyway, a lot depends on your patience, discipline and ability to follow instructions. It also makes a difference how compulsive you are about parts fit. You should always dry-fit everything possible before gluing to save a ton of headaches.

Take a look at my website and click the Information for Modelers link. You'll find a lot of info about tools and building techniques there.

BTW - kits are a lot easier to build now than when I started and I managed to get them built even when I had no knowledge or skills. Jump in with a reasonably simple kit and you should be successful.