Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

How to sheet a foam core wing?

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

How to sheet a foam core wing?

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2002, 02:10 AM
springcreek
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to sheet a foam core wing?

I'm sure this has been addressed many times before, but this is my first time doing it. So...what adhesives and procedures do you use for the best results? I am going to start building Lanier's 1/3 scale Laser 200 kit. Any helpful hints and tips would be greatly appreciated.
Old 05-24-2002, 05:07 AM
AQ500

Everyone has their own method. I use a 30 minute epoxy thinned with rubbing alcohol. I apply the epoxy to both the core and the sheeting with a squeegee (sp?). I then sandwich the wing with the sheeting in the block of foam that the wing was cut out of. I then place 100 pounds or so depending on size on the foam blocks. I let it cure overnight. I'm sure it's not the best way, but it works for me.
Old 05-24-2002, 11:19 AM
Edwin
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Same method, different glue. I use Probond polyurathan glue. I also sandwich the foam between 2 2'x4' self boards with formica on it to ensure its straight.
Edwin
Old 05-24-2002, 06:48 PM
tonyc
My Feedback: (4)

Edwin
Who makes the Probond?
tony
Old 05-24-2002, 11:52 PM
TRP
My Feedback: (1)

Really? that's it? I have two kits that require sheeting over the foam cores and I just assumed that I had to vacuum bag the wings.

If I can just use some weight on the cores (in their beds) then I can get started sooner than I thought!

Whaoo!
Ted
Old 05-25-2002, 02:05 AM
Vince

Vacuum bagging insures an even application of pressure vs just putting weights on it when the core is in it's shucks. Having said that, just weighing it down has worked for many people for many years.