Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Top Flite Cessna 182 Covering Suggestions?

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Top Flite Cessna 182 Covering Suggestions?

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2004, 10:17 PM
parchafly

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Top Flite Cessna 182 Covering Suggestions?

I want to make it clear that I want to fly my plane (meaning I am not building a competition model), but I want a realistic durable finish. I have ZERO experience in fiberglass and am only using an OS .91 Surpass II (4 stroke) so I cannot add too much weight on my 81" wingspan Cessna. Please suggest some NEW and CURRENT finishing techniques which I can apply to my plane.

I am willing to use any technique except fiberglass. Suggestions?

Thanks in advance guys!
Old 02-01-2004, 11:14 PM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Top Flite Cessna 182 Covering Suggestions?

What's wrong with MonoKote or Ultracote?
Old 02-01-2004, 11:37 PM
parchafly

Nothing is wrong with Monokote, I plan to use it on the wing, but not on the fuse... I'm leaning towards Koverall, but I need the experts to chime in with their 2 cents...
Old 02-02-2004, 12:17 AM
kdheath

Could be as simple as Minwax Polycrylic and silkspan. Two coats applied with a foam brush. Sand with 80 grit. Spray with rattlecan auto primer, wet sand with 600 grit and spray with Rustoleum. Fairly fast and easy. Worst thing is waiting for the Rusto to dry-it is a little slow. Or if you have spray equipment use auto paint. Available in a zillion colors and custom mixed.
Kelvin
Old 02-02-2004, 01:37 AM
KidVermin
My Feedback: (3)

And all this time I thought you were an expert, Mike.

parchafly: