Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Attaching top wing on GP ultimate

Reply

Old 05-31-2004, 07:01 AM
  #1  
GRANT ED
Thread Starter
 
GRANT ED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,691
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Attaching top wing on GP ultimate

Iv'e got to the step of attaching the top wing on my ultimate. I have noticed that the bolts that stick up from the fuse seam to be not far enough apart i.e the front bolt is all the way back in the hole in the rib and the back bolt is all the way to the front in the back section of the rib. As it is the flat plywood stiffeners will not fit in the slots that are cut in the ribs.
Has anyone else had this problem??
GRANT ED is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 07:16 AM
  #2  
Hisham
Senior Member
 
Hisham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Beirut, LEBANON
Posts: 904
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Attaching top wing on GP ultimate

Nope,
Mine was perfect,
didn't you test positioned the middle rib
that had the holes before hand???
Regards
Hisham
Hisham is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 07:21 AM
  #3  
GRANT ED
Thread Starter
 
GRANT ED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,691
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Attaching top wing on GP ultimate

Yeh I have not glued the ribs in but when I sit them in place it seams as though the bolts are to close together.
GRANT ED is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 06:58 AM
  #4  
MarkNovack
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
MarkNovack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Nameche, BELGIUM
Posts: 1,552
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Attaching top wing on GP ultimate

Ed,
Mine was like yours. Just enlarge the slots in the ribs, move the ply to where it needs to go, set everything up and glue into place. No problems, airplane had over 1000 when I gave it away and I still see it from time to time still going strong.

Mark
MarkNovack is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 07:44 AM
  #5  
Hisham
Senior Member
 
Hisham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Beirut, LEBANON
Posts: 904
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Attaching top wing on GP ultimate

I have about 10 flights on mine....
Awesome plane, it really glides!
Used two servos for the ailerons ...and OS .72 FS engine
Casted a Fiberglass cowl and pants.
Check it out
Hisham
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo40233.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	78.2 KB
ID:	138791   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ea84455.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	85.0 KB
ID:	138792  
Hisham is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service