Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Skyshark RC Fantasy

Old 06-21-2004, 04:38 PM
rjwintex

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Skyshark RC Fantasy

I am new to the hobby and have only limited experience flying a Nexstar. I am currently building the Fantasy as my first kit and am looking for advice on whether to build it as a trike or taildragger. Since the airplane is still in the box, I was planning on installing two sets of gear blocks so that I could convert it to a taildragger later. I am leaning towards assembling it as a tri-gear, but was wondering if I could step up from a high wing trainer to a low wing taildragger in one step. Any comments/suggetions would be much appreciated.
Old 06-21-2004, 05:20 PM
photoniq

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Skyshark RC Fantasy

I have gone from a high wing tricycle trainer to a great planes super sportster 40 which is a low wing tail dragger. It was not a problem.

Personally I would go with the traildragger setup since most of the planes you will get in the future will be probably be taildraggers - and they look way cooler to me at least.

Of course all tail dragger low winger planes are not made equal. I would get advice from other people on this forum as to whether or not this is a suitable second plane. When I asked a similar question about the super sportster I was told that some planes SNAP (still not sure what that means) and that newbies should avoid such planes.

photoniq
Old 06-21-2004, 08:46 PM
jgraham10
My Feedback: (3)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

I would have to agree with Photonig about making it a tail dragger. WIth the kit you have to chose which one you want since Ribs 3 and 4 are used for the landing gear blocks.